STAND. COM. REP. NO. -16

Honolulu, Hawaii March 4 , 2016 RE: H.B. No. 1730 H.D. 2

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Eighth State Legislature Regular Session of 2016 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce, to which was referred H.B. No. 1730, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO ENERGY TARIFFS,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to require electric utilities that use a time-of-use feature in their rate structure to include a credit to the eligible customer-generator for any net electricity produced during peak hours of usage.

A few individuals supported this measure. The Blue Planet Foundation and Hawaii Solar Energy Association supported this measure with amendments. Hawaiian Electric Company, Maui Electric Company, and Hawaii Electric Light Company, and Land Use Research Foundation testified in opposition to this measure. The Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs and Hawaii Energy Policy Forum provided comments on this measure.

Your Committee has amended this measure by changing its effective date to July 1, 2050, to encourage further discussion.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 1730, H.D. 1, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Third Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 1730, H.D. 2.



STAND. COM. REP. NO. 943 -16 Page 2

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce,

ANGUS L.K. MCKELVEY, Chair



State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-eighth Legislature

HECR 943-16

Record of Votes of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce

	Committee Referral:			2-29-16.	
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.					
The recommendation is to:					
Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)					
CPC Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused	
1. McKELVEY, Angus L.K. (C)					
2. WOODSON, Justin H. (VC)					
3. BELATTI, Della Au					
4. BROWER, Tom					
5. CREAGAN, Richard P.					
6. HAR, Sharon E.					
7. HASHEM, Mark J.					
8. KAWAKAMI, Derek S.K.					
9. LEE, Chris					
10. NAKASHIMA, Mark M.					
11. OSHIRO, Marcus R.					
12. SAN BUENAVENTURA, Joy A.					
13. TAKAYAMA, Gregg					
14. YAMANE, Ryan I.					
15. FUKUMOTO CHANG, Beth					
16. McDERMOTT, Bob					
	_				
			·		
TOTAL (16)	9.	0	0	7_	
The recommendation is: Adopted Not Adopted If joint referral,					
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:					
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO					