THE SENATE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES THE TWENTY-SEVENTH LEGISLATURE INTERIM OF 2014

COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION

Senator Jill N. Tokuda, Chair Senator Michelle N. Kidani, Vice Chair

Sen. Mike Gabbard Sen. Sam Slom Sen. Russell E. Ruderman

COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION Rep. Roy M. Takumi, Chair Rep. Takashi Ohno, Vice Chair

Rep. Henry J.C. AquinoRep. Calvin K.Y. SayRep. Karen AwanaRep. K. Mark TakaiRep. Isaac W. ChoyRep. Lauren Kealohilani MatsumotoRep. Faye P. HanohanoRep. Richard Lee FaleRep. Linda IchiyamaRep. Richard Lee Fale

NOTICE OF INFORMATIONAL BRIEFING

DATE: Friday, October 24, 2014 TIME: 10:00 AM PLACE: Conference Room 309 State Capitol 415 South Beretania Street

$\underline{A} \underline{G} \underline{E} \underline{N} \underline{D} \underline{A}$

The purpose of this informational briefing is to increase awareness of Hawaii Head Start's role within our Early Childhood system and its positive impact on children, families, staff and communities as we celebrate 50 years of innovation and accomplishments in 2015.

The following have been invited to participate:

- Chris Jackson, Head Start Collaboration Director/Executive Office on Early Learning
- Debbi Amaral, Head Start Association of Hawaii President & Maui Economic Opportunity (MEO) Head Start Program Director
- Ben Naki, Head Start Association of Hawaii Treasurer & Parents and Children Together (PACT) Early Head Start/Head Start Program Director
- Lynn Cabato, Head Start Association of Hawaii Vice-President & Honolulu Community Action Program (HCAP) Head Start Program Director
- Stacy Brown, Family Support Hawaii (FSH) Early Head Start Program Director (Kona)
- Lainee Carvalho, former Head Start parent/Lead Family Advocate for Child & Family Service Head Start (Kauai)

Briefing Materials

No public testimony will be accepted.

If you require auxiliary aids or services to participate in the informational briefing (i.e. ASL or foreign language interpreter, or wheelchair accessibility), please contact the committee clerk at least 24 hours prior to the briefing so that arrangements can be made.



For further information, please call the Committee Clerk at 587-7215.

Rep. Roy M. Takumi Chair Senator Jill N. Tokuda Chair

Rep. Joseph M. Souki Speaker of the House

Senator Donna Mercado Kim President of the Senate

