## <u>SB 294</u>

## RELATING TO MOTOR VEHICLE LICENSING.

Amends driver's licensing law to correct arbitrary application of license expiration for drivers over the age of seventy-one.

GLENN M. OKIMOTO DIRECTOR

Deputy Directors FORD N. FUCHIGAMI JADE BUTAY RANDY GRUNE JADINE URASAKI

IN REPLY REFER TO:



STATE OF HAWAII DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 869 PUNCHBOWL STREET HONOLULU, HAWAII 96813-5097

January 28, 2013

## S.B. 294 RELATING TO MOTOR VEHICLE LICENSING.

## Senate Committee on Transportation and International Affairs

The Department of Transportation **opposes** this bill which increases the age at which a two-year driver's license is issued, from 72 to 77 years.

Our suggested licensing program for two-year renewals beginning at age 72 will allow more frequent review of license holders in this age group with declining driving abilities and medication-related functional deficits.

We suggest the following amendments for clarity and to ensure that all drivers obtain a two-year license at age 72 years or older:

**\*§286-106 Expiration of licenses.** Every driver's license issued under this part, except for a provisional license issued under section 286-102.6 which shall expire on the date of the provisional licensee's nineteenth birthday, whether an original issuance or a renewal, shall expire on the first birthday of the licensee occurring not less than eight years after the date of the issuance of the license, unless sooner revoked or suspended; provided that:

- (1) The license shall expire on the [first birthday of the licensee occurring not less than four years after the date of the issuance] licensee's twenty-fifth birthday or fourth birthday from the date of license issuance, whichever date occurs earlier, if, at the time, the licensee is twenty-four years of age or younger;
- (2) [The license shall expire on the first birthday of the licensee occurring not less than two years after the date of the issuance of the license if, at that time, the licensee is seventy two years of age or older;] The license shall expire on the licensee's seventy-second birthday and persons aged 72 and older shall be issued only a two-year license; and
- (3) If the licensee is a legal immigrant, the license shall expire no later than the licensee's authorized period of stay in the United States.

The examiner of drivers may issue a license for a shorter period if the licensee has a physical condition or conditions that the examiner of drivers reasonably believes may impair the driver's ability to drive."

Thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony.



DEPARTMENT OF CUSTOMER SERVICES **CITY & COUNTY OF HONOLULU** 

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLE, LICENSING AND PERMITS ADMINISTRATION P.O. BOX 30300

HONOLULU, HAWAII 96820-0300

KIRK CALDWELL MAYOR



SHERI T. KAJIWARA DIRECTOR DESIGNATE

**DENNIS A KAMIMURA** LICENSING ADMINISTRATOR

January 25, 2013

The Honorable J. Kalani English, Chair and Members Committee on Transportation and International Affairs State Senate Hawaii State Capitol 514 South Beretania Street Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Dear Chair English and Committee Members:

Subject: S.B. No. 294, Relating to Motor Vehicle Licensing

The City and County of Honolulu and Counties of Hawaii, Maui and Kauai are in favor of the intent of S.B. No. 294 which amends the licensing period for individuals 71 years of age or older but recommend a clarifying amendment.

We recommend that subsection (2) be amended as follows:

"(2) Any license issued to a person who is seventy-one years of age or older, at the time, shall expire on the licensee's seventy-ninth birthday or on the first birthday of the licensee occurring not less than two years after the date of license issuance, whichever is later in time, and"

Since this bill will require programming changes to our current systems, we recommend that the effective date in Section 4 be amended to no later than September 1, 2013. Implementation will begin immediately upon programming and successful testing.

Sincerely,

Dennis A. Kamimura Licensing Administrator