

SEAC Special Education Advisory Council 919 Ala Moana Blvd., Room 101 Honolulu, HI 96814 Fax: 586-8129 Phone: 586-8126 email: spin@doh.hawaii.gov

Arpil 15, 2013

Senator Jill Tokuda, Chair Senate Committee on Education State Capitol Honolulu, HI 96813

RE: HCR 57 - REQUESTING THE BOARD OF EDUCATION AND THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION TO CONTNUE TO COLLABORATE WITH FAMILY AND COMMUNITY ORGANIZATIONS TO ESTABLISH, IMPLEMENT, AND MONITOR STATEWIDE POLICIES FOR FAMLY-SCHOOL PARTNERSHIPS

Dear Chair Tokuda and Members of the Committee.

The Special Education Advisory Council (SEAC), Hawaii's State Advisory Panel under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), is in strong support of HCR 57.

Representatives from SEAC have been working over the last two years with the Department of Education and representatives from diverse family and community organizations to address the concerns raised in previous resolutions (SCR 145 in 2011 and SCR 79 in 2012). Since the Department of Education's latest report to the Legislature in December 2012 on SCR 79 efforts, there has been no clear plan to accomplish the remaining tasks outlined by the Department and seconded by the participating family and community organizations. These efforts are needed to build the capacity of public schools to engage routinely in family school partnership practices.

SEAC firmly believes that HCR 57 and its Senate counterpart, SCR 49, are needed to maintain the momentum of the group and realize our shared goals, so that ultimately, student achievement is positively impacted.

Thank you for the opportunity to provide our strong support for this important resolution. If you have any questions, I will be happy to answer them.

Respectfully,

Jula Suren

Ivalee Sinclair, Chair Mandated by the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act

Special Education Advisory Council

Ms. Ivalee Sinclair, Chair Ms. Martha Guinan. Vice Chair

Ms. Brendelyn Ancheta Ms. Cassandra Bennett Dr. Tammy Bopp Ms. Jyo Bridgewater Dr. Robert Campbell Ms. Deborah Cheeseman Ms. Annette Cooper Ms. Phyllis DeKok Ms. Shari Dela Cuadra-Larsen, liaison to the Superintendent Ms. Gabriele Finn Ms. Tami Ho Ms. Barbara Ioli Ms. Deborah Kobayakawa Ms. Bernadette Lane Ms. Shanelle Lum Ms. Eleanor MacDonald Ms. Rachel Matsunobu Ms. Dale Matsuura Ms. Stacey Oshio Ms. Zaidarene Place Ms. Barbara Pretty Ms. Kau'i Rezentes Ms. Melissa Rose Dr. Patricia Sheehey Mr. Tom Smith Mr. Mike Tamahaha Dr. Daniel Ulrich Ms. Cari White

Jan Tateishi, Staff Susan Rocco, Staff