

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Seventh State Legislature Regular Session of 2013 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce, to which was referred S.B. No. 987, S.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO IMPACT FEES,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to require the assessment of impact fees prior to the issuance of a water meter and collection of impact fees in full prior to or upon the issuance of a water meter.

Your Committee finds that state law currently requires the assessment and collection of impact fees prior to or upon the issuance of a grading or building permit by a county. Your Committee believes that, by allowing impact fees to be assessed and collected prior to or upon issuance of a water meter, this measure affords the counties greater flexibility in planning and imposing fees and aligns state law with the current rules and procedures of the county water boards.

Your Committee has amended this measure by changing the effective date to July 1, 2013.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 987, S.D. 1, as amended herein, and recommends

SB987 HD1 HSCR LRB 13-2550.doc

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1562

that it pass Third Reading in the form attached hereto as S.B. No. 987, S.D. 1, H.D. 1.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce,



ANGUS L.K. MCKELVEY, Chair



.

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-seventh Legislature

HSCR 1562

## Record of Votes of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce

Bill/Resolution No.: SB937 SD	Committee Referral: WAL, CPC	Date:	4/1/13	·····
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to:  □ Pass, unamended (as is) □ Pass, with amendments (HD) □ Hold □ Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
CPC Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. McKELVEY, Angus L.K. (C)				
2. KAWAKAMI, Derek S.K. (VC)				
3. BELATTI, Della Au		_		
4. BROWER, Tom				
5. CABANILLA, Rida T.R.				
6. CACHOLA, Romy M.				
7. CARROLL, Mele				
8. EVANS, Cindy				
9. HAR, Sharon E.				
10. ITO, Ken				
11. LEE, Chris				
12. TSUJI, Clift				
13. YAMANE, Ryan I.				
14. MCDERMOTT, Bob				
15. THIELEN, Cynthia				
TOTAL (15)	8	1		6
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation.				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				

.