STAND. COM. REP. NO.

Honolulu, Hawaii March 22, 2013 RE: S.B. No. 750 S.D. 2 H.D. 1

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Seventh State Legislature Regular Session of 2013 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Economic Development & Business, to which was referred S.B. No. 750, S.D. 2, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO DIGITAL MEDIA INFRASTRUCTURE,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to establish an income tax credit for the development of qualified media infrastructure programs in designated or qualifying geographic areas of the State.

Big Island Film Office and one concerned individual opposed this measure. The Department of Business, Economic Development, and Tourism; Department of Taxation; Tax Foundation of Hawaii; SAG-AFTRA Hawaii; IATSE, Mixed Local 665; AFM, Local 677; Teamsters, Local 996; SHM Partners/Film Studio Group; Maui Film Studios, LLC; and one concerned individual offered comments.

Your Committee has amended this measure by changing its effective date to January 20, 2050, to encourage further discussion.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Economic Development & Business that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 750, S.D. 2, as amended herein, and recommends



STAND. COM. REP. NO. ΪΪΧζ Page 2

that it be referred to the Committee on Finance in the form attached hereto as S.B. No. 750, S.D. 2, H.D. 1.

SB750 HD1 HSCR EDB HMS 2013-2853 

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Economic Development & Business,

CLIFT TSUJI, Chair

HSCR 1186

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-seventh Legislature

## Record of Votes of the Committee on Economic Development & Business

Bill/Resolution No.: SB 750, SD2	Committee Referral: VMI, EDB, FIN	Date: 3-19	ate: -19-2013	
□ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: □ Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) □ Hold   □ Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
EDB Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. TSUJI, Clift (C)				
2. WARD, Gene (VC)				
3. BROWER, Tom	V			
4. CACHOLA, Romy M.				
5. CHOY, Isaac W.				
6. OHNO, Takashi				
7. ONISHI, Richard H.K.				
8. TAKAYAMA, Gregg				
9. TOKIOKA, James Kunane				
TOTAL (9)	9	Ø	Ø	
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation.				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				