

Honorable Joseph M. Souki Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Seventh State Legislature Regular Session of 2013 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce, to which was referred S.B. No. 682, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO FIRE PROTECTION,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to ensure compliance with county fire codes by updating the authority of county fire chiefs to review plans and documentation for building construction, alterations, or changes in use.

The State Fire Council, Kauai Fire Department, and one concerned individual submitted testimony in support of the measure. The Building Industry Association of Hawaii submitted comments on the measure.

Your Committee finds that building occupancies and classifications have changed since the statute requiring submission of building plans to the county fire chief was last amended. This measure updates statutory language and clarifies a county fire chief's authority to review appropriate building or facility construction, alteration, and other installation plans to ensure compliance with county fire codes.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and

SB682 HD1 HSCR LRB 13-2554.doc



STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1558 Page 2

purpose of S.B. No. 682, S.D. 2, H.D. 1, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce,



ANGUS L.K. MCKELVEY, Chair



State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-seventh Legislature



Record of Votes of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce

Bill/Resolution No.: SIG 682 SDZ HD1 PB	e Referral: S ₁ CPC	Date:	4/1/13	
□ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Image: Pass, unamended (as is) Image: Pass, with amendments (HD) Image: Hold Image: Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
CPC Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. McKELVEY, Angus L.K. (C)				
2. KAWAKAMI, Derek S.K. (VC)				
3. BELATTI, Della Au				
4. BROWER, Tom				
5. CABANILLA, Rida T.R.				
6. CACHOLA, Romy M.	~			· ······
7. CARROLL, Mele			-	
8. EVANS, Cindy				
9. HAR, Sharon E.				
10. ITO, Ken				
11. LEE, Chris	/			
12. TSUJI, Clift				
13. YAMANE, Ryan I.				
14. MCDERMOTT, Bob	ţ.		, <u></u> ,	
15. THIELEN, Cynthia				· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
				<u> </u>
				· · · ·
			·	
TOTAL (15)	9			φ
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation.				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				