S.C.R. NO. ⁸⁹ S.D. 1

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

CONVENING A TASK FORCE TO EXAMINE THE ISSUE OF CHANGES TO THE HAWAII PENAL CODE FOR THE SENTENCING OF REPEAT OFFENDERS.

WHEREAS, during the 2006 Regular Session, the Attorney 1 General requested the introduction of, as part of the Department 2 of the Attorney General's 2006 legislative package, a measure 3 which, in part, sought to expand the types of offenses subject 4 5 to higher maximum terms for repeat offenders; and 6 7 WHEREAS, the measure also sought to change the method of calculating the period of eligibility of repeat offender 8 9 sentencing; and 10 11 WHEREAS, the measure additionally sought to add twenty class B and class C felonies to the list of offenses for which 12 deferred acceptance of plea (DAG or DANC) is not permitted; and 13 14 WHEREAS, the Senate Committee on Judiciary and Hawaiian 15 Affairs determined that these proposed changes to the Hawaii 16 Penal Code may have serious implications and that such 17 significant changes required further in-depth review and 18 examination; now, therefore, 19 20 BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the Twenty-third 21 22 Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2006, the House of Representatives concurring, that a task force be 23 24 convened to study and determine whether changes should be made 25 to the sentencing requirements for repeat criminal offenders; 26 and 27 28 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall be comprised of the following members: 29 30 The Attorney General, or the Attorney General's 31 (1)designee; 32 33



S.C.R. NO. ⁸⁹ S.D. 1

2

1 2 3	(2)	The Director of Public Safety, or the Director's designee;	
4 5 6	(3)	The Director of the Hawaii Paroling Authority, or the Director's designee;	
0 7 8 9	(4)	One member from each county's prosecuting attorneys' office;	
9 10 11	(5)	An attorney from the Office of the Public Defender;	
12 13 14	(6)	A commissioner from each county's police department or their designee;	
14 15 16	(7)	One member from the Hawaii State Bar Association;	
17 18	(8)	One member from the Criminal Defense Bar;	
19 20	(9)	One member from the Hawaii State Judiciary;	
21 22 23	(10)	One member from the faculty of the University of Hawaii, Williams S. Richardson School of Law; and	
23 24 25	(11)	One member from the public appointed by the Governor;	
26 27	and		
28 29 30 31	William S. Richardson School of Law shall serve as the chairperson and facilitator of the task force for organizational		
32 33	BE II	I FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force's missions shall	
34 35 36	be to:	Determine the initial question of whether costion	
36 37 38 39 40 41	(1)	Determine the initial question of whether section 706-606.5, Hawaii Revised Statutes, dealing with sentencing for repeat offenders, should be expanded to include additional offenses and if so, to determine which offenses should be included;	
42 43	(2)	Determine whether the calculation of time for determining the period of eligibility for repeat	



S.C.R. NO. ⁸⁹ S.D. 1

3

1 2 3		offender sentencing should be modified, and if so, how it should be modified;
4 5 6 7 8	(3)	Determine whether additional types of class B and class C felonies should be added to the list of offenses for which a deferred acceptance of plea (DAG or DANC) is not permitted, and if so which offenses should be added; and
9 10 11 12 13	(4) and	Prepare proposed legislation;
13 14 15 16 17	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this resolution does not require the task force to examine S.B. 2260, Hawaii's "three strike law"; and	
18 19 20 21	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall provide the Legislature with its report, including proposed legislation, at least twenty days prior to the convening of the Regular Session of 2007; and	
22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31	Concurren the Direc Paroling the Offic county's Bar Assoc	T FURTHER RESOLVED that certified copies of this t Resolution be transmitted to the Attorney General, tor of Public Safety, the Director of the Hawaii Authority, each county's prosecuting attorneys' office, e of the Public Defender, the Commissioner of each police department, the President of the Hawaii State iation, the Chief Justice of the Hawaii Supreme Court, of the William S. Richardson School of Law, and the

