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SB 0589 RELATING TO EDUCATION. 

Requires HTSB to develop criteria for the issuance of vocational, technical, 

and career pathway (VTC) teaching permits and licenses. Requires DOE to 

waive the bachelor's degree requirement for VTC teachers and issue 

special permits or licenses under certain conditions. Sets forth certain 

privileges for teachers who receive VTC teaching licenses. 

The Department of Education does not support S.B. 0589. The 

Department and the Hawaii Teachers Standards Board (HTSB) have 

already drafted rules based on current statute allowing for an alternative 

pathway to permitting/licensing an individual in Career and Technical 

Education (CTE). The department already requires the following for a 

CTE permit: 1) have at least a high school diploma, 2) three years of 

experience in a related industry in which they will be teaching, 3) have the 

related industry and/or license if one exists, and 4) they must take the 

substitute course. The current requirements have been successful in 

attracting individuals, especially in rural areas (i.e. Lanai), to teach in 

career and technical education classrooms. It is rare to find qualified 

individuals with five or more years of industry experience and also 

possess higher levels of education in rural areas. 

The Department should not be issuing special permits and/or licenses as 

this is a function of the Hawaii Teacher Standards Board. The Hawaii 

Teacher Standards Board has already developed criteria for an individual 

t6 apply for a CTE standard license. This new pathway proposed by 



HT8B will provide the next step to GTE permit holders in obtaining a 

standard GTE license by taking more rigorous coursework. 

The Department also does not support the suggested changes in 8.B. 

0589 because it allows for the exemption of probation requirements; 

granting of immediate tenure and compensating individuals at a specific 

step for only GTE teachers when this is not allowable for all other licensed 

teachers. 



TESTIMONY BEFORE THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION 

Re:  SB 589:  Relating to Education 
 
Hearing Date: February 7, 2011   
 
Terry Lynn Holck, Chairperson, Hawaii Teacher Standards Board 
 
Chairperson Tokuda, Vice Chair Kidani and Members of the Committee: 
 
The Hawaii Teacher Standards Board (HTSB) supports the intent of SB 589 but 

opposes changes to §302A-802 since has already passed policy regarding the Career 

and Technical Education (CTE) license and permits.  The following table shows existing 

HTSB policy compared to language in SB589. 

 SB589 HTSB Existing Policy 
 

CTE Permit §302A-802 (d):                  
(1) Associate’s degree or 

equivalent;                        
(2) Five years industry experience;                               
(3) Valid trade or industry license, 
if one exists;          
(4) Passed 40 hour substitute 
teacher training course. 

 

§8-54-13 (c):     
(1) Recommendation of the Superintendent; 
(2) Valid industry license or certification, if one exists; 
(3) Three years industry experience. 

CTE License §302A-802 (e): 
(1a) 5 years teaching experience 
under section (d) above with a 
satisfactory evaluation in each 
year; 
(1b) Pass the Praxis II subject 
exam; 
OR 
(2a) 3 years teaching experience 
under section (d) above with a 
satisfactory evaluation in each 
year; 
(2b) 30 credits of teacher training; 
(2c) Pass the Praxis II subject 
exam. 

NBI 10-42: 
(1) Minimum of an Associate degree; and 
(2) A minimum of 3 years of industry experience 
directly related to content area; 
(3) 15 hours of pedagogy coursework from State 
Approved Teacher Education Program in the grade 
level of the license 

OR 
12 hours of pedagogy coursework from a SATEP in 
the grade level of the license and passing score on 
the Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT) 
licensure test in the grade level of the license; 
4.  One of the following content knowledge testing 
options: 

 Praxis test in content field, if one exists; or 

 Current valid National Industry Certification in 
content area; or 

 Current valid industry license in content area;  

 30 hours coursework in the license field; 
5.  Meet Professional Fitness Requirement; 
6.  Pass Basic Skills tests; 
7.  Pay license fees. 



 

New Business Item 10-38, passed January 24, 2011, also makes provision for the 

Board to develop a full Career and Technical Education license.  The proposed 

language reads as below and is part of Board testimony for SB 806: 

§302A-803 (a) (9) Develop criteria for a full Career and Technical Education 

license allowing qualified individuals with at least an associate’s degree, pedagogy 

coursework, industry experience and content expertise to receive this license limited to 

CTE teaching assignments. 

HTSB New Business Item 10-42, also passed at the January 2011 meeting, sets the 
criteria for an individual to receive a CTE license. This license is a professional, 
Standard License; however, licensees obtaining a CTE license via this alternative route 
shall not be eligible to teach in other classroom assignments nor be eligible to add any 
other field outside of the CTE license fields to this license. The HTSB strongly urges the 
Committee to recognize the requirements already in place for CTE licensees to ensure 
that basic skills are demonstrated; coursework from a SATEP is obtained for proper 
training in pedagogy; multiple, adequate options for content expertise are offered to the 
individual; and students are protected because their teacher meets Professional Fitness 
criteria.   
 
The CTE Permit has been available to individuals since 2007. An individual may teach 
for up to five years under the CTE Permit. The HTSB also encourages the Committee to 
allow the current permitee requirements to remain in place to allow for those with 
content expertise but who do yet hold an associate’s degree or five years experience as 
required in this bill.  This would allow up to five years to complete requirements for the 
CTE license described above. 
 
Thank you for the opportunity to testify. 
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SB 589:  Relating to Education 
 
Chair Tokuda, Vice Chair Kidani, and members of the Senate Committee on Education. 
  
My name is Donald Young. I am providing testimony as Director of the Hawai‘i Educational 
Policy Center (HEPC) in support of the intent of this bill. 
  
Any carefully considered initiative to help address and ameliorate the ongoing need for Career 
and Technical Education (CTE) teachers should be given careful consideration. One potential 
source of CTE teachers might be those coming into the profession via vocational, technical, and 
career pathways. Potential impediments to their permitting and licensure should be carefully 
examined. However, HEPC suggests that individuals attaining a teaching license in CTE be 
subject to the same probationary requirements as other teachers. 
  
The question of alternative pathways to licensure in the CTE field is a complex one. Committee 
members may need objective, research-based policy briefs on the question to help facilitate their 
deliberations. The Hawaii Educational Policy Center could provide one on this matter 
expeditiously upon request. 
  
Thank you for the opportunity to testify. 
 


