
TESTIMONY OF
THE DEPARTMENT OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
TWENTY-SIXTH LEGISLATURE, 2011

ON THE FOLLOWING MEASURE:
H.B. NO. 96, H.D. 1, RELATING TO INTOXICATING LIQUOR.

BEFORE THE:
HOUSE COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY

DATE: Thursday, February 17, 2011 TIME: 2:00 p.m.

LOCATION: State Capitol, Room 325

TESTIFIER(S): David H. Louie, Attorney General, or
Mark K. Miyahira, Deputy Attorney General

Chair Keith-Agaran and Members of the Committee:

The Department of the Attorney General supports the intent

of the bill but has significant concerns about the amendment to

section 281-101.5(e), Hawaii Revised Statutes, and provides the

following comments about this measure.

The purpose of the bill is to (1) prohibit minors from

using false identification to enter premises of establishments

with liquor licenses that exclude minors; (2) authorize a

mandatory enhanced sentencing provision relating to fines; and

(3) require that 50 percent of revenues from fines imposed be

distributed to the counties for anti-underage drinking programs

or underage drinking law enforcement programs.

The amendment to section 281-101.5(e), Hawaii Revised

Statutes, will authorize a mandatory enhanced sentencing

provision relating to fines. The Department has significant

concerns that the mandatory enhanced sentencing scheme may

prevent young adults, aged 18 to 20 years old, from requesting

and receiving a deferred acceptance of a guilty or no contest

plea for the offense of prohibitions involving minors.

Section 853-1, Hawaii Revised Statutes, permits the court

to defer further proceedings, without accepting the plea of nob
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contendere or entering a judgment of guilt, with the consent of

the defendant and after considering the recommendations, if any,

of the prosecutor.

In enacting this statute, the Hawaii Legislature stated:

The legislature finds and declares that in certain criminal
cases, particularly those involving first time, accidental,
or situational offenders, it is in the best interest of the
State and the defendant that the defendant be given the
opportunity to keep his record free of criminal conviction,
if he can comply with certain terms and conditions during a
period designated by court order. Especially where youth
is involved, a record free of a felony conviction, which
would foreclose certain educational, professional, and job
opportunities may, in a proper case, be more conducive to
offender rehabilitation and crime prevention than the
deterrent effects of a conviction and sentence.

Section 1, Act 154, Session Laws of Hawaii 1976.

In State v. Tom, 69 Haw. 602 (1988), the Hawaii supreme

Court ruled that the trial court properly denied the motion for

a deferred acceptance of a no contest (D2½NC) plea on the basis

of the sentencing scheme in the DUI statute, as well as for

other reasons. In State v. Tom, the Hawaii Supreme Court noted

that the Dlii statute provides for an enhanced sentencing scheme

for multiple offenses within a five year period. “A repeat

offender given a DANC plea on the first offense could thus

escape enhanced sentencing under the DUI statute by committing a

second offense after DANC jurisdiction had expired but within

the five year period of the Dlii sentencing scheme.” Id. At 604.

Based on State v. Tom, the Department believes that the

mandatory enhanced sentencing provision in section 281-101.5,

Hawaii Revised Statutes, may prevent young adults, aged 18 to 20

years old, from requesting and receiving a deferred acceptance

of a guilty or no contest plea. The Department believes that

this would lead to an inappropriate disposition as the
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Legislature enacted the deferred acceptance statute for just

this type of situation.

The Department also does not support this bill’s original

amendment to section 281-101.5(e), Hawaii Revised Statutes,

which proposed to create a permissive sentencing provision

relating to fines. Under the current law, persons under 18

years old are subject to the jurisdiction of the family court,

which already has the power to impose a fine on a minor. Also,

under the current law, a violation of section 281-101.5(b) or

Cc), Hawaii Revised Statutes, is a petty misdemeanor and the

courts are authorized to impose a fine up to $1000. The

original amendment simply created a sentencing guideline which

could be disregarded by the court.
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State Capitol, Conference Room 325

by
Janice Yamada

Deputy Chief Court Administrator
Client Services Division

First Circuit Court

WRITTEN TESTIMONY ONLY

Bill No. and Title: House Bill No. 96, H.D. 1, Relating to Intoxicating Liquor

Purpose: To prevent and deter underage drinking.

Judiciary’s Position:

The Judiciary takes no position on House Bill No. 96, H.D. 1, which requires the
imposition of fines against minors for liquor violations.

For purposes of this law, the term, “minor,” includes anyone under the age of2l.
Generally, persons under 18 do not have the means to pay fines. Unless this bill expressly gives
Family Court the authority to require parents to cover these fines, collection may be difficult. If
the Legislature wishes to require parents to be liable for these fines, we note that House Bill No.
18, House Draft I includes the following language (p. 3, lines 9-12):

“The parent or legal guardian having control or custody of an unemancipated minor
whose conduct violates this section shall be liable for the amount of the fine imposed pursuant to
this section.”



House Bill No. 96, H.D. 1, Relating to Intoxicating Liquor

Sr House Committee on Judiciary
\ •~ Thursday, February 17, 2011op IL Page 2

HRS Chapter 571 generally recognizes the need to give the family court wide discretion
to individualize the disposition of minors. A system of mandatory fines is contrary to this
recognition. The Judiciary recognizes the importance of combating underage drinking. We
recognize that this age group (up to age 21) is over-represented in traffic accidents and fatalities.
We are unsure that the efficacy of this system will outweigh curtailing Family Court’s discretion.

Thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony on this measure.



Office of the Public Defender
State of Hawaii

Timothy Ho, Chief Deputy Public Defender
Testimony of the Office of the Public Defender,

State of Hawaii to the House Committee on Judiciary

February 17, 2011, 2:00 p.m.

RE: H.B. 96, HD1: Relating To Intoxicating Liquor

Chair Keith-Agaran and Members of the Committee:

The Office of the Public Defender opposes this measure.

This measure would amend subsection (c) of Section 281-101.5, Hawaii Revised
Statutes by inserting language which make the use of falsified identification to
gain entry into an establishment that excludes minors under the age of twenty-
one or only admits people twenty-one year or older.

We understand the argument proffered by our law enforcement community that
the threat of the loss of driving privileges is a huge deterrent to underage
drinking. Section (1) states that Act 203 has been an effective tool because it
mandates driver’s license suspensions. What evidence have they provided to
this committee which would back up these claims? Has there been a reduction
in arrests for this offense? How many drivers’ licenses have been suspended?
We do not believe that Act 203 has had a deterrent effect because most if not all
drivers under the age of twenty-one are not aware of the penalties prescribed by
this law.

We strongly urge this committee to delete the language proposed in subsection
Cc) of this measure. We believe that the current language, which prohibits the
use of falsified identification for the purpose purchasing liquor is sufficient, and is
at least consistent with the rest of the activities proscribed in this statute, which
relates to the possession and/or consumption of alcohol by a person under the
age of twenty-one. The proposed language is inconsistent with the rest of the
offense of Prohibitions Involving Minors. The proposed language has no
connection with the illegally obtaining, possessing or using alcohol. For example,
a minor may use a falsified identification in order to gain entry into premises
restricting entry to those twenty-one years or older for reasons other than
drinking alcohol. This person may want to see a musical or comedy act, or
simply want to meet others for dancing, or karaoke. This person may have no
intention to consume alcohol, and should not be convicted of a criminal offense.

We also strongly oppose the mandatory and progressive sentencing scheme
proposed in subsection (3) of this bill. The progressive sentencing scheme will
prohibit a defendant from obtaining a deferred acceptance of a gujlty or no



contest plea. Many young men and women charged with under-aged drinking
have no prior offenses, and are unlikely to ever commit another criminal offense.
A deferred plea, which would permit a minor to avoid a criminal conviction, would
not be possible if a progressive sentencing scheme is adopted. Currently, a
judge has the discretion to impose a sentence of up to six months in jail and/or a
thousand dollar fine. We believe that the current penalties are appropriate
punishments for this offense.

We oppose the passage of H.B. No. 96, H.D. 1. Thank you for the opportunity to
be heard on this matter.
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LOUIS U. KEALOHA
PETER B. CARLISLE CHIEF

MAYOR

DELCERT T. TAT$UYAMA
RANDAL K. MACADAHGDANS

DEPUTY CHIEFS

OUR REFEREHCE —

The Honorable Gilbert S. C. Keith-Agaran, Chair
and Members

Committee on Judiciary
House of Representatives
State Capital
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Dear Chair Keith-Agaran and Members:

Subject: Rouse Bill No 96, H.D. 1, Relating to Intoxicating Liquor

I am Janna Mizuo, Major of the Community Affairs Division of the Honolulu Police
Department (HPD)I City and County of Honolulu.

The HPD supports House Bill No. 96, H.D. 1. The health and welfare of our youth
and the consequences of their drinking and driving are of utmost concern to the HPD.

This bill sends a clear message to minors that anyone found in violation of the law
will be subject to a license suspension and assessed a fine. It also addresses the
prohibition of using a false identification to obtain liquor.

Because driving is a privilege and not a right, having the minor’s license, provisional
license, and instructor’s permit suspended and at the same time imposing a fine, would be a
major deterrent factor that may prevent future similar behavior.

Thank you for the opportunity to testify.

APPROVED:

L~ _

LOUIS M. KEAL
Chief of Police

February 17,2011

Sm’ing and Protecting With Aloha
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ALAN M. ARAKAWA

MAYOR

OUR REFERENCE

YOUR REFERENCE

POLICE DEPARTMENT
COUNTY OF MAUI

55 MAHALANI STREET
WAILUKU, HAWAII 96793

(808) 244-6400
FAX (808) 244-6411

GARY A. YABUTA
CHIEF OF POLICE

CLAYTON N,Y.W. TOM
DEPUTY CHIEF OF POLICE

February 16,2011

The Honorable Gilbert S.C. Keith-Agaran, Chair
and Members of the Committee on Judiciary

The State Capitol
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Dear Chair Keith-Agaran and Members of the Committee:

RE: House Bill No. 96, HD1, Relating to Intoxicating Liquor

The Maui Police Department supports the passage of H. B. No. 96 HD1. This
bill prohibits use by minors of false identification to enter premises of establishments,
carrying liquor licenses that exclude minors. It also establishes a schedule of fines
assessed against minors for violations relating to liquor and designates fifty per cent of
revenues from fines to county programs to combat underage drinking.

96, HDI
The Maui County Police Department humbly asks for you support for RB. No.

Thank you for the opportunity to testi&.



JUDtestimony

From: maiIingIist@capitoI.hawaH.gov
Sent: Wednesday, February 16,2011 8:58AM
To: JUDtestimony
Cc: traci.viIIarosa~mauicounty.gov
Subject: Testimony for HB96 on 2/17/2011 2:00:00 PM
Attachments: HB96.doc

Testimony for JIJD 2/17/2011 2:00:00 PM HB96

Conference room: 325
Testifier position: comments only
Testifier will be present: No
Submitted by: Traci Fujita Villarosa, Esq.
Organization: County of Maui, Department of Liquor Control; City &amp; County of Hononolulu,
Liquor Commission
Address:
Phone:
E-mail: traci.villarosa(~mauicounty.gov
Submitted on: 2/16/2011

Comments:
The proposed fines are under the jurisdiction of the family court and will be collected by
the State. The proposed amendments clarify that it is the State of Hawaii Director of Budget
&amp; Finance that will distribute the proposed revenue, not the county directors of finance.
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HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES H.B. N0.96
TWENTY-SIXTH LEGISLATURE, 2011
STATE OF HAWAII

A BILL FOR AN ACT

RELATING TO INTOXICATING LIQUOR.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF HAWAII:

SECTION 1. The legislature finds that the “Use and

Lose” law, Act 203, Hawaii Session Laws of 2006, has been

an effective tool in curbing teenage drinking because it

mandated driver’s license suspensions for minors caught

violating the liquor laws. The “Use and Lose” law,

however, does not have the same deterrent effect on those

minors who do not have driver’s licenses or a desire to

drive.

The legislature further finds that license suspensions

sometime present significant hardships to violators and

their families in communities that have few or no modes of

public transportation.

Moreover, programming in underage drinking awareness

is an additional yet non-punitive approach that would

educate teens about the dangers of alcohol abuse. Such

programs may influence teenagers to make responsible

decisions about alcohol use based upon effective



presentations of~compelling facts and a rational desire to

be safe and healthy.

The purpose of this Act is to:

(1) Promote youth awareness of alcohol abuse;

(2) Encourage the enforcement of the liquor laws by

directing fifty per cent of the revenue generated from

optional fines towards county anti—underage drinking

programs; and

(3) Authorize courts to order additional fines and

increase the number of hours of community service required

of minors who violate the liquor laws.

SECTION 2. Section 281-101.5, Hawaii Revised

Statutes, is amended to read as follows:

“~281-1O1.5 Prohibitions involving minors; penalty.

(a) Any adult who provides or purchases liquor for

consumption or use by a person under twenty—one

years of age shall be guilty of the offense under section

712—1250.5.

b) No minor shall consume or purchase liquor and no minor

shall consume or have liquor in the minor’s possession or

custody in any public place, public gathering, or public

amusement, at any public beach or public park, or in any



motor vehicle on a public highway; provided that

notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, this

subsection shall not apply to:

(1) Possession or custody of liquor by a minor in the

course of delivery, pursuant to the direction of the

minor’s employer lawfully engaged in business

necessitating the delivery;

(2) Possession, custody, or consumption of liquor by

a minor in connection with the minor’s authorized

participation in religious ceremonies requiring such

possession, custody, or consumption; or

(3) Any person between the ages of eighteen and

twenty, who is participating in a controlled purchase as

part of a law enforcement activity or a study authorized by

the department of health to determine the level of

incidence of liquor sales to minors.

c) No minor shall falsify any identification or use any

false identification or identification of another person or

of a fictitious person for the purpose of buying or

attempting to buy liquor, for the purpose of

obtaining employment to sell or serve liquor on licensed

premises, or for the purpose of gaining entry to the

premises of a licensee that excludes minors or admits only

a person who produces identification to prove the person is



twenty—one years of age or older.

(d) Any person under age eighteen who violates this

section shall be subject to the jurisdiction of the family

court. Any person age eighteen but under twenty—one years

of age who violates subsection (b) or (c) shall be

guilty of a petty misdemeanor. The court shall order that

any person under twenty—one years of age found to be in

violation of this section shall have, in addition to any

other disposition or sentencing provision permitted by law,

the person’s license to operate a motor vehicle, or the

person’s ability to obtain a license to operate a motor

vehicle, suspended as follows:

(1) For licensed drivers, the driver’s license shall

be suspended for not less than one hundred and eighty days

with exceptions to allow, at the discretion of the

sentencing court, driving to and from school, school—

sponsored activities, employment, or for other reasons when

lack of alternative transportation presents an undue

hardship;

(2) For persons with a provisional license, the

provisional license shall be suspended for not less than

one hundred and eighty days with exceptions to allow, at

the discretion of the sentencing court, driving to and from

school, school—sponsored activities, employment, or for



other reasons when lack of alternative transportation

presents an undue hardship;

(3) For persons with an instruction permit, the

instruction permit shall be suspended for not less than one

hundred and eighty days with exceptions to allow, at the

discretion of the sentencing court, driving to and from

school, school—sponsored activities, employment, or for

other reasons when lack of alternative transportation

presents an undue hardship; or

(4) For persons not licensed to drive, eligibility to

obtain a driver’s license, provisional license, or

instruction permit shall be suspended until the age of

seventeen or for one hundred and eighty days, at the

discretion of the court; and

(5) Chapter 571 notwithstanding, in any case where a

person under the age of eighteen violates this section, the

family court judge may suspend the driver’s license,

provisional license, or instruction permit, or suspend the

eligibility to obtain a driver’s license, provisional

license, or instruction permit in accordance with this

section;

provided that the requirement to provide proof of financial

responsibility pursuant to section 287—20 shall not be



based upon a sentence imposed under paragraphs (1) and (2)

In addition, all persons whether or not licensed, found

to be in violation of this section shall be sentenced to at

least seventy-five hours of community service work, and an

eight to twelve hour program of alcohol education and

counseling the costs of which shall be borne by the

offender or the offender’s parent or guardian.

(e) In addition to any other penalties authorized by law,

any minor who violates subsection (b) or (c) may be fined

as follows:

(1) For a first violation, by a fine of not less than

$100 and not more than $250;

(2) For a violation that occurs within three years of

a prior violation under subsection (b) or Cc), by a fine of

not less than $250 and not more than $500; and

(3) For a violation that occurs within three years of

two or more prior violations under subsection (b) or Cc),

by a fine of not less than $500 and not more than $1,000.

The State of Hawaii, director of budget & finance shall

distribute fifty per cent of the revenues from the fines

imposed under this subsection to the county in which the

violation occurred. The funds shall be used for anti—

underage drinking programs or underage drinking law

enforcement programs.



(f) As used in this section, “consume” or “consumption”

includes the ingestion of liquor.”

SECTION 3. This Act does not affect rights and duties

that matured, penalties that were incurred, and proceedings

that were begun before its effective date.

SECTION 4. Statutory material to be repealed is

bracketed and stricken. New statutory material is

underscored.

SECTION 5. This Act shall take effect on July 1,

2011.

INTRODUCED BY:



Representative Gilbert Keith-Agaran, Chair
Representative Karl Rhoads, Vice Chair
Committee on Judiciary

HEARING Thursday, February 17, 2011
2:00 pm
Conference Room 325
State Capitol, Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

RE: HB96 H21I Relating to Intoxicating Liguor

Chair Keith-Agaran, Vice Chair Rhoads, and Members of the Committee:

Retail Merchants of Hawaii (RMH) is a not-for-profit trade organization representing 200 members and over 2,000
storefronts, and is committed to the support of the retail industry and business in general in Hawaii.

RMH supports HB96 HDI, which prohibits use by minors of false identification to enter premises of establishments
carrying liquor licenses that exclude minors, establishes a schedule of fines assessed against minors for violations
relating to liquor, and designates 50% of revenues from fines to county programs for underage drinking awareness
and prevention.

As concerned citizens, we most assuredly support all endeavors to prevent underage drinking and the subsequent
damaging effects on our children and society.

For retailers, a significant provision of HB96, HD1 is strengthening the prohibition of and penalties for a minor’s use
of false identification. Modern technology has facilitated the proliferation of fraudulent kinds of identification that are
virtually undetectable to all but the trained professional. These counterfeit documents are prevalent in the
marketplace, and are key components in various offenses, not the least of which are check and credit card fraud
and identity theft. Creating consequences for the use of fraudulent documents at any and all levels is a major step
to containing these criminal activities.

As evidenced by the results of the anti-smoking? anti-tobacco programs, education and information are critical
components of substance abuse prevention. The fines generated from this provision will provide an important
source of funding for this preventive tool at the county levels.

We respectfully urge your passage of HB96 HD1~ Thank you for your consideration and for the opportunity to
submit testimony.

Carol Pregill, President

RETAIL MERCHANTS OF HAWAII
1240 Ala Moona Boulevard. Suite 215
Honolulu, HI 9~814
ph: 808-592-4200 / fax: 808-592-4202
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CHRISTINA ZAHARA NOH HONOLULU, HAWAII 96801 cnoh@goodsi11.com
CHRISTINE OGAWA KARAMATSU -~ (808) 547-5600 • FAX (808) 547-5880 ckaramatsu@goodsi1l.com

info@goodsill.com - www.goodsill.com

TO: Representative Gilbert S.C. Keith-Agaran
Chair, Committee on Judiciary
Via Email: JUDtestimony(2l~CapitoLhawaii.gov

FROM: Christina Zahara Noh

DATE: February 16, 2011

RE: H-B. 96, H.D. 1—Relating to Intoxicating Liquor
Hearing: Thursday, February 17, 2011 at 2:00p.m., Room 325

Dear Chair Keith-Agaran and Members of the Committee on Judiciary:

I am Christina Zahara Noh, appearing on behalf of the Distilled Spirits Council of the
United States (“DISCUS”). DISCUS is a national trade association representing
producers and marketers of distilled spirits sold in the United States. Through the efforts
of the Century Council, a not-for-profit organization fUnded solely by America’s leading
distillers, the distilled spirits industry develops innovative programs used by communities
nationwide to combat drunk driving and illegal, underage drinking.

H.B. 96, H.D.1 prohibits minors from using false identification to purchase liquor,
establishes a schedule of fines assessed against minors for violations relating to liquor,
and designates fifty percent of revenues from fines to county programs to combat
underage drinking. Under the present penalty scheme, minors who violate this law would
be subject to license suspension. Under the proposed penalty scheme in RB. 96, H.fl 1,
however, minors who violate the law by using false identification would be subject to a
series of fines in addition to the mandatory penalties of license suspension, community
service work, and alcohol education and counseling.

DISCUS supports H.B. 96, H.D. 1 because it seeks to supplement effective and
enforceable penalties to deter underage thinking with the imposition of fines. DISCUS
believes that penalties such as license suspension, community service and alcohol
education for underage thinkers who purchase, possess or consume alcohol are effective
measures that can help to curb incidents of underage drinking. For this reason, DISCUS

3270863.1
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February 16, 2011
Page 2

supports supplementing those types of penalties with mandatory fines, but asks that the
existing mandatory penalties for underage thinking be kept in place.

Thank you very much for this opportunity to present testimony on H.B. 96, H.D.1. We
look forward to participating in further discussion on this measure.



JUDtestimony

From: Dara Carlin, MA. [breaking-the-siIence~hotmaiI.com}
Sent: Monday, February 14, 20111:43 PM
To: JuDtestimony
Subject: . HB96 HD1 to be heard, Thursday, 02/17/11 at 2:00pm in Room 325

TO: Representative Keith-Agaran, Chair
Representative Rhoads, Vice Chair
Judiciary Committee Members

FROM: Dara Carlin, M.A.
Domestic Violence Survivor Advocate
881 Akiu Place
Kailua, HI 96734

DATE: 02/17/11

RE: SUPPORT for H696 HD1

Good Afternoon Representatives and thank you for this opportunity to provide testimony in SUPPORT of HB96 HD1.

I was in New York recently talking with a college friend of mine and his wife who are the parents of two teens. They told
me about a horrific motor vehicle accident where all but one of the teens were killed. (Clip from an article about it
below.)

Teen in fatal crash didn’t have license
Crash kills 4 teens, I critical
Updated: Wednesday, 08 Dec 2010, 9:57 PM EST
Pub!ished : Wednesday, 08 Dec 2010, 9:38 AM EST

Griswold, Conn. (WTNH) - As the Griswold community grieves so many questions are being asked about how four young
lives could have been cut short and a fifth teen left fighting for his life in the hospital. The 16-year old driver who killed
himself and three others in.the crash only had a learner’s permit, not a driver’s license.

Killed in the crash were 16-year old John Clapper, who was driving, 16-year old Sativa Cornell, 15-year old Steven
Szklarz, and Dillon Clifford, who would have turned 17 on Friday. 16-year old Joel Gallup remains in critical condition
Wednesday night at Yale-New Haven Hospital.

The police have not yet determined whether alcohol was a factor in the crash or not, but even without the involvement of
drugs or alcohol, this accident reflects the decision-making ability of many teens. In another article about this tragic
accident, it says the driver took his mother’s car without her consent and even if consent had been given, he was still not
legally allowed to be driving - but he took the car anyway and this decision cost him his life, the life of his girlfriend and
two of his friends.

Decision-making becomes impaired for adults who are under the influence and the risk is clearly doubled for teens.
Alcohol has no place in a growing teen’s life so let’s do what we can to ensure that teens and alcohol are kept apart.

Sadly, as I was looking for the article on this particular accident, the front headline in today’s (02/14/11) New York
Newsday read:

“Suffolk police are investigating the death of an East Moriches teen who they say was discovered dead Sunday morning
after a night of drinking with friends.”

1



From: higarne1i~hawajj.ed~
Sent: February 16, 20111:50 AM
Subject: Intoxicating Liquor; Minor, Fines

I strongly support HB 96, that there should be a strict law that prohibits minors
from entering establishments with false identification and carrying liquor license. As a
former night club bartender, I have seen much false identification (fake id’s) that minors
try to use to buy alcohol. Many of the larger clubs have security checking id’s before
entering the establishment, but it is not a requirement by the state. Many minors try to
enter use real ids from family members or friends to enter establishments serving alcohol.
As a bartender you are required to attend liquor classes which teach you not serve
underage patrons and how to identi& false ids. Minors are allowed to serve alcohol if
they obtain a server card from the Liquor Commission. If a minor is not allowed to
consume or buy alcohol, then they shouldn’t be allowed to serve it as well. The service
industry is a fast past environment where minors have slipped through the cracks. If
restrictions and fines are placed on minors, the battle to combat underage drinlcing will
become much easier.

Strongly Support
Thank you for your time and consideration on this bill.

Sincerely,
Melissa Higa



David Cayton
2421 Ala Wai Boulevard, #805

Honolulu, HI 96815
808-352-7422

dnwayton~?i~ao1.com

February 16, 2011

Hawaii State Legislature
Aftn: Gilbert S.C. Keith-Agaran

Chair, House Judiciary Committee
Hawaii State Capitol
Honolulu, FIT 96813

Aloha Mr. Keith-Argaran and House Judiciary Committee Members:

My name is David Cayton and I am writing to in support of HB 96 — Relating to Intoxicating
Liquor. Currently, I am a paralegal studies student at Kapiolani Community College. I also hold
a master’s degree in Counseling from the University of Hawaii at Manoa. From my experiences
working in academic administration and counseling settings, I have observed the negative
consequences that can accompany minors’ consumption of alcohol and believe that there should
be deterrents to engaging in violations of the law. I agree that the “Use and Lose” law has
resulted in a an effective deterrent to those minors who possess driver’s licenses, but it has not
had a significant impact on those who chose not possess a driver’s license or do not have the
intention to drive. I believe that assessing fines to minors who engage in liquor law violations
can have a much greater impact upon discouraging negative behaviors. The revenue generated
from the fines also provides the necessary fUnding for developing or restructuring or programs to
specifically combat underage drinking. I believe that early intervention is am integral part of
reducing the iuse of alcohol and other substances by citizens of the State of Hawaii. Mahalo for
your time and attention.

Aloha,

David Cayton


