STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1202

Honolulu, Hawaii March 24, 2011

RE: S.B. No. 595 S.D. 2 H.D. 1

Honorable Calvin K.Y. Say Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Sixth State Legislature Regular Session of 2011 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committees on Judiciary and Consumer Protection & Commerce, to which was referred S.B. No. 595, S.D. 2, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO PHYSICIANS,"

beg leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this bill is to help maintain the availability of health care in Hawaii by establishing a tax credit for physicians or clinics that treat Medicaid patients, serve rural areas, or respond to emergency calls.

The Hawaii Medical Association, Healthcare Association of Hawaii, and Hawaii Medical Service Association supported this bill. The Tax Foundation of Hawaii offered comments.

Your Committees have amended this measure by:

(1) Removing the availability of the tax credit to rural providers or emergency care providers without regard to their Medicaid patient caseload, and making the tax credit available based solely on whether a provider's total Medicaid patient caseload meets an unspecified percentage;



STAND. COM. REP. NO. **202** Page 2

- (2) Deleting the provision that allowed for the tax credit to be refunded to the physician or clinic; and
- (3) Making technical, nonsubstantive amendments for clarity, consistency, and style.

As affirmed by the records of votes of the members of your Committees on Judiciary and Consumer Protection & Commerce that are attached to this report, your Committees are in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 595, S.D. 2, as amended herein, and recommend that it be referred to the Committee on Finance, in the form attached hereto as S.B. No. 595, S.D. 2, H.D. 1.

> Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committees on Judiciary and Consumer Protection & Commerce,

auch-

GILBERT KEITH-AGARAN, Chair

ROBERT N. HERKES, Chair

SB595 HD1 HSCR JUD-CPC HMS 2011-3321

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-sixth Legislature



Record of Votes of the Committee on Judiciary

Bill/Resolution No.:	Committee Referral: Date:					
5B 595, 5D2 HLT/HUS, JUD/CPC, FIN 03/23/2011						
□ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.						
The recommendation is to: □ Pass, unamended (as is) ▲ Pass, with amendments (HD) □ Hold □ Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)						
JUD Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused		
1. KEITH-AGARAN, Gilbert S.C. (C)						
2. RHOADS, Karl (VC)						
3. BROWER, Tom						
4. CABANILLA, Rida T.R.				<u> </u>		
5. CARROLL, Mele						
6. HERKES, Robert N.						
7. ITO, Ken						
8. LUKE, Sylvia						
9. McKELVEY, Angus L.K.						
10MORITA, He rmina M.						
11. OSHIRO, Blake K.			3.4. 1			
12. SOUKI, Joseph M.	/					
13. TSUJI, Clift				· · · · · ·		
14. FONTAINE, George R.			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			
15. MARUMOTO, Barbara C.						
16. THIELEN, Cynthia						
				_		
		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				
		+				
		<u> </u>				
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·						
TOTAL (16)	10	1	O	4		
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation.						
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:						
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO						

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-sixth Legislature



Record of Votes of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce

Bill/Resolution No.: SB 590 SDR Committee Referral: HLT/HUSJUD/CPC_FIN Date: 3/23/2011						
□ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.						
The recommendation is to: □ Pass, unamended (as is) □ Pass, with amendments (HD) □ Hold □ Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)						
CPC Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused		
1. HERKES, Robert N. (C)				· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
2. YAMANE, Ryan I. (VC)						
3. BROWER, Tom						
4. CABANILLA, Rida T.R.				/		
5. CARROLL, Mele						
6. ITO, Ken			1 ar sainte			
7. KEITH-AGARAN, Gilbert S.C.	1.					
8. LUKE, Sylvia						
9. McKELVEY, Angus L.K.						
-10MORITA, Hermina M						
11. OSHIRO, Blake K.						
12. SOUKI, Joseph M.						
13. TSUJI, Clift		-				
14. CHING, Corinne W.L.						
15. MARUMOTO, Barbara C.						
16. THIELEN, Cynthia						
	• •					
	h an 11		-			
<u> </u>	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·					
TOTAL (16) (15)	/0			5		
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation.						
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:						
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO						