STAND. COM. REP. NO.

Honolulu, Hawaii March 3, 2011

RE: H.R. No. 10

Honorable Calvin K.Y. Say Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Sixth State Legislature Regular Session of 2011 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Tourism, to which was referred H.R. No. 10 entitled:

"HOUSE RESOLUTION URGING THE GOVERNOR TO PRESERVE THE COUNTIES' SHARE OF THE TRANSIENT ACCOMMODATIONS TAX,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this resolution is to maintain the financial integrity of the counties by preserving the counties' share of the transient accommodations tax (TAT). Maintaining the current allocation of the TAT would allow the counties to continue providing essential government services to visitors and residents. The county share of the TAT also provides more stability to county finances and enables improved budgeting and planning. However, losing the current allocation of the TAT would require counties to significantly raise property taxes.

The Hawaii State Association of Counties, the Mayor of the City and County of Honolulu, the Council Chair of the County of Maui, and a councilmember of the County of Maui supported this measure.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Tourism that is attached to this report, your Committee concurs with the intent and purpose of H.R. No. 10 and recommends that it be referred to the Committee on Finance.



STAND. COM. REP. NO. Page 2



Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Tourism,

TOM BROWER, Chair



State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-sixth Legislature



Record of Votes of the Committee on Tourism				
Bill/Resolution No.: HR 10	Committee Referral: TOV, FIN	Date:	1/14/	11
The committee is reconsidering its pre-	vious decision on the measure.		•	
-	s, unamended (as is)	s, with amendments (nmit for future public		
TOU Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. BROWER, Tom (C)	V			·
2. TOKIOKA, James Kunane (V	C)			
3. AWANA, Karen L.	V			
4. CHOY, Isaac W.	V			
5. EVANS, Cindy				
5. HASHEM, Mark J.	V			
7. McKELVEY, Angus L.K.				
3. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
D. TSUJI, Clift				l V
0. CHING, Corinne W.L.				
1. MARUMOTO, Barbara C.	V			
				· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
TOTAL (11)		$ \mathcal{O} $	Ø	
	opted	did not suppor	rt recommendation	1.
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:	X MITH NUM			
Distribution: Original (White) – Comm	ittee Duplicate (Yellow) -	Chief Clerk's Office	Duplicate (F	ink) HMSO