STAND. COM. REP. NO.

Honolulu, Hawaii Feb 7 , 2011

RE: H.B. No. 803

Honorable Calvin K.Y. Say Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Sixth State Legislature Regular Session of 2011 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce, to which was referred H.B. No. 803 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO TAXATION,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this bill is to:

- (1) Repeal the requirement that \$2,000,000 of revenues from taxes collected from banks and financial institutions under Chapter 241, Hawaii Revised Statutes, be deposited into the Compliance Resolution Fund; and
- (2) Temporarily authorize, from July 1, 2011, to December 31, 2011, the Commissioner of Financial Institutions to adopt rules or impose fees charged to banks and other financial institutions without regard to certain public notice and regulatory review requirements.

The Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Hawaii Bankers Association, and the Hawaii Financial Services Association opposed this measure. The Tax Foundation of Hawaii offered comments.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 803 and recommends that it pass Second Reading and be referred to the Committee on Finance.

HB803 HSCR CPC HMS 2011-1733

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 43 Page 2

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce,

ROBERT N. HERKES, Chair



÷

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-sixth Legislature

HSCR 43

## **Record of Votes of the Committee on Consumer Protection & Commerce**

Bill/Resolution No.: HB 803 Committee Referral: CPC, FIN Date: 1/3/11				
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold   Image: Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
CPC Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. HERKES, Robert N. (C)				
2. YAMANE, Ryan I. (VC)				
3. BROWER, Tom	/			
4. CABANILLA, Rida T.R.				
5. CARROLL, Mele	•			
6. ITO, Ken				
7. KEITH-AGARAN, Gilbert S.C.				
8. LUKE, Sylvia				_
9. McKELVEY, Angus L.K.				
10. MORITA, Hermina M.				
11. OSHIRO, Blake K.				
12. SOUKI, Joseph M.	•			
13. TSUJI, Clift				
14. CHING, Corinne W.L.				
15. MARUMOTO, Barbara C.		/		
16. THIELEN, Cynthia		/		
	· ·			
TOTAL (16)	6	7		Z
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation.				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				