HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING YUUKO ARIKAWA AS THE 2010 MILKEN EDUCATOR AWARD WINNER, DAWN HOMONT AS THE 2010 MILKEN TEACHER OF PROMISE AWARD WINNER, DARREL GALERA AS THE 2010 METLIFE/NASSP HIGH SCHOOL PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR, JUSTIN MEW AS THE 2010 METLIFE/NASSP MIDDLE SCHOOL PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR, MICHAEL HARANO AS THE 2010 NAESP HAWAII DISTINGUISHED PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR, AND KOKO HEAD ELEMENTARY SCHOOL, LIHOLIHO ELEMENTARY SCHOOL, AND WAIALUA ELEMENTARY SCHOOL AS THE 2011 HAWAII BLUE RIBBON SCHOOLS.

WHEREAS, YUUKO ARIKAWA, a teacher at Kaala Elementary School since 2000, has outstanding qualities as a language arts teacher, reading coach, and leader, all of which helped to guide the school out of restructuring into good standing under No Child Left Behind; goes out of her way to facilitate the homeschool connection by bringing academic materials to students' homes and tutoring students personally; developed a pacing guide to help teachers understand the framework of new curriculum; and taught other teachers how to analyze student data; and

WHEREAS, DAWN HOMONT, a seventh grade physical education teacher at Waianae Intermediate School, demonstrates the highest qualities of a professional educator; has been described by her nominator as "having stringent expectations for her students" out of a belief that "strong bodies enhance strong minds," and that she "employs a program that supports positive social and emotional development"; and has achieved great results within the first four semesters of her teaching; and

WHEREAS, DARREL GALERA, principal of Moanalua High School since 2000, has helped students achieve an average graduation rate of 91 percent, and has also helped the average rate of students moving on to higher education institutions reach 87 percent, has garnered multiple outstanding educator awards, hosts a statewide professional development conference at

Moanalua High School every year, has been called "a visionary leader" by colleagues, and has also been described as having "students, staff, parents, and community stakeholders...working collaboratively to fulfill the mission of the school"; and

WHEREAS, JUSTIN MEW, principal of Niu Valley Middle School since 2006, helped Niu Valley become the first middle school in Hawaii to offer the International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme, ascribes to Yoda's Jedi wisdom from Star Wars to guide him, "has totally changed the perception and the reputation of the school with parents and the community," and has many in the community saying that "his positive and principled character allows for open communication"; and

WHEREAS, MICHAEL HARANO, principal of Washington Middle School since 2003, has worked in Hawaii's public school system for the past 34 years, has a philosophy of, "It's not mandatory, it's not optional, it's what we do!" which has made him an exceptional leader within the school and in the community, always asks students "How hard have you worked?" and has helped foster an environment that encourages a champion math team; and

WHEREAS, KOKO HEAD ELEMENTARY SCHOOL is committed to providing a comprehensive, well-rounded education to develop respectful, responsible, resourceful, and resilient student leaders who have a passion for life-long learning; achieved a 94 percent proficiency score in reading in the 2009-2010 Hawaii State Assessment, surpassing the state average of 67 percent by 27 percentage points; and achieved an 83 percent proficiency score in math in the 2009-2010 Hawaii State Assessment, surpassing the state average of 49 percent by 34 percentage points; and

WHEREAS, LIHOLIHO ELEMENTARY SCHOOL has a mission to inspire and support a community of caring, competent, and creative learners; has had its principal and several teachers nominated for several awards; has 87 percent of its students either meeting or exceeding reading standards on the 2009-2010 Hawaii State Assessment; and 83 percent of its students either meeting or exceeding math standards on the 2009-2010 Hawaii State Assessment; and

HR HMS 2011-2913

WHEREAS, WAIALUA ELEMENTARY SCHOOL believes in partnering with families and the community to create a safe learning environment where students learn to be responsible, compassionate citizens in a global society; has had its Enhancing Education Through Technology grant pave the way for increased student achievement; has 77 percent of its student body either meeting or exceeding the reading standards in the 2009-2010 Hawaii State Assessment; and has 66 percent of its student body either meeting or exceeding the 2009-2010 Hawaii State Assessment in math; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the Twenty-sixth Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2011, that this body hereby recognizes, congratulates, and honors YUUKO ARIKAWA as the 2010 Milken Educator Award Winner; DAWN HOMONT as the 2010 Milken Teacher of Promise Award Winner; DARREL GALERA, the 2010 High School Principal of the Year; JUSTIN MEW, the 2010 Middle School Principal of the Year; MICHAEL HARANO, the 2010 Distinguished Principal of the Year; and KOKO HEAD ELEMENTARY SCHOOL, LIHOLIHO ELEMENTARY SCHOOL, and WAIALUA ELEMENTARY SCHOOL as Hawaii's 2011 Blue Ribbon Schools, and extends to all of them its sincere mahalo and best wishes for continued success in all future endeavors.

OFFERED BY:

MAR 1 7 2011

HR HMS 2011-2913