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TESTIMONY IN STRONG SUPPORT TO SB 2562 

Aloha Chair Baker, Chair Gabbard, and Members of the Committees: 

The Hawai'i Chapter of the Sierra Club strongly supports SB 2562, requiring that certain 
retailers take back deposit containers at their store. 

The single best way to ensure easy, convenient redemption for Hawaii's consumers is to 
mandate that grocery stores and retailers of a certain size take back the bottles and cans 
that they sell, just like every other deposit law state. 

Hawaii's bottle law has proven to be an overwhelming success for Hawaii's environment, with 
three billion bottles and cans being diverted from Hawaii's landfills. Beyond waste diversion, the 
new recycling law reduced litter, created jobs, and provided new opportunities for churches, 
charities, and schools to fundraise. The recycling program proves that a little change can make 
a big difference. 

Despite its success with redeeming over three billion beverage containers, the bottle law can be 
improved. Residents have rightfully complained about the cumbersome redemption process, 
with infrequent redemption centers and spotty hours of operation (and service).' A recent 
Department of Health study indicated 29% of respondents would prefer to redeem their 
containers at stores or the place where the bottles were bought. To this end, 27% of 
respondents complained in a recent study that it was "too much of a hassle" to redeem 
containers. "When respondents were asked how much of the redemption center they normally 
use changed in the past year, 66% of them said that it worsened a little. 

Hawai'i is currently the only state with a bottle law that does not require grocery stores to 'close 
the loop' on recycling. Hawai'i should require that stores over a certain size (or over a certain 
sales threshold) provide redemption, exempting most "mom and pop" stores. This measure will 
do this, requiring that large, "big box" stores over 75,000 square feet provide for redemption. 
Stores would not need to staff a redemption center; they could simply install "reverse vending 
machines" at the store or in the parking lot. 

1 See ''Tracking Participation In and Attitudes Toward the HI-5 Deposit Beverage Container Recycling 
Program" (April 2008), available at http://hawaii.gav/health/enviranmental/waste/sw/sw/hi5/suppartl 
H 15 2008SurveyRepart.pdf 
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Such an improvement to our bottle law will streamline the redemption process and provide 
residents with convenient recycling where they shop, when they shop. 

We strongly recommend. howeyer. that this measure be amended to include regular 
grocery stores in the beyerage container redemption program. We recommend that 
stores 10.000 feet and larger be required to take back bottles and cans, just like they do in 
every other bottle law state (see attached pages on take-back requirements from other states). 
Setting the size limit at 10,000 square feet would provide more opportunities to recycle for 
residents (at the Foodlands, Safeways, etc. where they shop) while excluding the smaller, mom­
and-pop stores (for comparison, most "7-11" stores in Hawai'i are smaller than 10,000 square 
feet). 

As a reminder to this Committee, the legislature has tried previously to encourage the voluntary 
use of reverse vending machines by offering rebates to retailers and recyclers who use them. 
The rebates ranged from $30,000 to $90,000 (depending on store size), effectively covering a 
majority of the cost of such machines. These enticements failed to increase the number of 
stores participating in the redemption program. It is unfortunate that the retailers and grocery 
stores have refused to playa role in Hawaii's beverage container program by providing easy, 
convenient recycling - just as they do in the other bottle law states where they operate. This bill 

. -properly amended to include more of the everyday grocery stores that residents patronize­
will ensure that they participate in this recycling program to keep the products that they profit 
from out of our landfills and off our beaches. 

Please review the attached listing of retailer "take back" requirements from other bottle law 
states. We hope this committee amends SB 2562 to include more stores in Hawaii's bottle law 
program. 

Thank you for the opportunity to testify. 

REVIEW OF REGULATIONS FROM OTHER BOTTLE LAW STATES 

1. Maine 
• Anyone who sells, beverages in redeemable containers, including vending machines, is a 

dealer. Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §1862(5). 
• "[AJ dealer may not refuse to accept from any consumer or other person not a dealer any 

empty, unbroken and reasonably clean beverage container of the kind, size and brand sold 
by the dealer .... " Me. Rev. State. Ann. tit. 32, §1866(1). 

• A dealer may refuse to accept containers if the type of the container and the dealer are 
covered by an order permitting a redemption center. Me. Rev. State. Ann. tit. 32, §1866(2). 

• LIMIT: 240 containers per person per day. Me. Rev. State. Ann. tit. 32, §1866(2-A). 
• A dealer may refuse to accept containers during no more than 3 hours each day. If the 

dealer chooses to do this, the hours during which he or she will not accept containers must 
be posted. Me. Rev. State. Ann. tit. 32, §1866(2-B). 

• The only exemption is for apple cider produced in the state. Code. Me. R. §01-001-15. 
Link to Statute: http:((janus.state.me.L1s/legis/statutes/32/ tide32sec1867 .html 
Link to Regulations: htlV:((www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/Ol/001/001c360.<1oc 

2. Vermont 
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• The Vermont statute requires all retailers to accept and pay the refund for any beverage 
containers "of the kind, size and brand sold by the retailer .... " 10 V.S.A. §1523(a)(1). 

• Containers may be redeemed during no less than 40 hours per week, during regular 
operating hours. 10 V.S.A. § 1522(d). 

• A retailer may refuse to accept containers, with the prior approval of the Secretary of the 
Agency of Natural Resources, if there is a redemption center serving the public need. 10 
V.S.A. § 1523(b). 

• Retailers may refuse to accept containers that are dirty, broken, or were not purchased in 
Vermont. 10 V.S.A. § 1532(c). 

Website Statute: http://ww ... leg.state.vt.us!statutes I sccuons.cfm?Ti tle= 1 O&Chapter=OS3 

3. Massachusetts 
• Any dealer must accept any empty beverage container of the size, brand, and type which the 

dealer sells and pay the customer the refund for the container. Mass. Gen. Laws Ch. 94 §323 
(b). 

• Dealers must accept containers during their normal business hours. Id. 
• Dealers may refuse to accept containers contaminated with foreign material. Mass. Gen. 

Laws Ch. 94 §323(f). 
• In addition to retail establishments, any person can establish a redemprion center. Mass. 

Gen. Laws Ch. 94 §323(e). 
o A redemption center may choose what containers it will accept. Id. 

Link to Massachusetts General Law: http://www.mass.gov/legis/laws/m[(l./94-321.htm 

4. Connecticut 
• A dealer must accept "any empty beverage containers of the kind, size and brand sold by the 

dealer" at the dealer's place of business unless the container contains foreign material or is 
not labeled in accordance with the statute. Conn. Gen. Stat. Ch. 446d §22a-245(b). 

• A dealer may also refuse to accept containers if the dealer "sponsors, solely or with others, a 
redemption center which is located within a one-mile radius of such place of business and 
which accepts beverage containers of the kind, size and brand sold by such dealer at such 
place of business or unless there is established by others, a redemption center which is 
located within a one-mile radius of such place of business and which accepts beverage 
containers of the kind, size and brand sold by such dealer at such place of business." Id. 

• A dealer may also refuse to accept containers 60 days after the dealer discontinues the sale of 
a particular kind, size or brand of beverage, but the dealer must post notice of the date on 
which he or she will stop accepting that particuiar type of container. Id. 

• A person may apply to the Commissioner of Environmental Protection to establish a 
redemption center. Conn. Gen. Stat. Ch. 446d §22a-245(a) (formerly §22a-79). 

o "Any person establishing a redemption center shall have the right to determine what 
kind, size and brand of beverage container shall be accepted. Any redemption center 
may be established to serve all persons or to serve certain specified dealers." Id. 

Link to Statute: http://www:cga.ct.gov/2001/pub/Chap446c1.htm#sec22a-243.htm 

5. New York 
• 

• 

A dealer is required to accept at his or her place of business "any empty beverage containers 
of the design, shape, size, color, composition and brand sold by the dealer .... " NY 
Environmental Conservation Law §27-1007(1). 
A dealer may refuse to accept an empty beverage container if: (1) the container does not 
state a refund value; (2) the botde is broken; (3) the can is corroded or dismembered; (3) the 
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container contains a significant amount of foreign material. NY Environmental 
Conservation Law § 27-1009(1)-(2). 

o The Department of Environmental Conservation is authorized to promulgate rules that 
would allow dealers and redemption centers to limit the kind and number of containers that 
particular facility will accept, but it has not done so. NY Environmental Conservation Law 
§27-1013. 

Link to Statute: http://public.ltgjnfo.state.nv.lls/merru~·ttf.cgi?CO!vlMONQUERY= LAWS 

6. Delaware 
o 

o 

o 

o 

A dealer shall accept from a consumer any empty beverage container of the kind, size and 
brand sold by the dealer, and pay the consumer the refund on the appropriately labeled 
returnable beverage container. Del. Code Ann., tit. 7, §6057. 
A dealer may refuse to refund deposits on beverage containers if a redemption center or 
centers are established in the vicinity which serve the public need. Id. 
A dealer or redemption center may refuse to refund deposits on beverage containers which 
are broken, or unclean, or not empty. Id. 
LIMIT: Such dealer or center may refuse to accept beverage containers from any person 
who attempts to return 120 or more containers at the same time, or within a 1-week period. 
Id. 

o Any dealer or disttibutor or manufacturer or person or any combination thereof may 
establish a redemption center subject to approval of the Department. Del. Code Ann., tit. 7, 
§6056(a). 

Link to statute: 
http://www.dclcode.state.de.us/dtlt7/c060/scm/index.htm 
Link to regulations: http://ww ... dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/hw/sw/pdf/ 
bevrcg.pdf 

7. Michigan 
o Dealers are required to provide "a convenient means whereby the containers of any kind, 

size, and brand sold or offered for sale by the dealer may be returned by, and the deposit 
refunded in cash" on the premises or within 100 yards of the premises. Mich. Compo Laws 
§445.572(2). 

o "Regional centers for the reclempdon of returnable containers may be established, in 
addition to but not as substitutes for, the means established for refunds of deposits 
prescribed in subsection (2)." Mich. Compo Laws §445.572(3) (emphasis added). 

o A dealer may refuse to pay a refund when accepting an empty container if that dealer does 
not require a deposit when he or she sells returnable beverage containers. Mich. Compo 
Laws §445.572(5). 

o A dealer or distributor has discretion to refuse to accept containers that do not clearly state 
the refund value of the container and "Michigan." Mich. Compo Laws §445.572(7) 

o LIMIT: In addition, a dealer is not required to accept empty containers for a refund of 
more than $25 on a single given day. Mich. Compo Laws §445.572(10). 

Links to statute: http://www.legishture.mi.g·ov /(Sly1 ksaimi44igdd55i4veumrg) /mileg.aspx? 
pgge=geto bject&ob jcctname=mcl-jJ1j tiatcd-.law-o [-197 (, 
http://www.deq.state.mi.us/documents / deq-wmd-swp-Bottle-Bill.doc 

8. Iowa 
o Dealers must accept "any empty beverage container of the kind, size and brand sold by the 

dealer .... " Iowa Code §455C.3(1) 
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• A dealer may refuse to accept any empty container that does not have a refund value on it. 
Iowa Code §4SSC4(1). 

• A dealer is also permitted to refuse to accept an empty beverage container if the dealer and 
the kind and brand of container are covered by an order approving a redemption center. 
Iowa Code §4SSC4(2). 

• Dealers may also refuse to accept alcoholic beverage containers that were originally sold at a 
state liquor store. Iowa Code §4SSC4(3). 

• Any person may establish a redemption center, subject to the approval of the Department of 
Natural Resources. Iowa Code §4SSC6(1). 

Link to statute: http://web.lc~.;s.statc.ia.us/li\CODE/1999SUPPLEMENT/4S5C/index.html 

9. Oregon 
• A dealer must accept "any empty beverage containers of the kind, size and brand sold by the 

dealer .... " Or. Rev. Stat. § 4S9A.710(1) 
• A dealer may refuse to accept any container if: (1) it does not state the refund value; (2) the 

dealer and the container are covered by an order approving a redemption center; (3) the 
container is visibly contaminated by any substance other than water, the original contents, or 
dust; (4) the container is damaged to the extent that the brand is unidentifiable. Or. Rev. 
Stat. § 4S9A.71S(I)-(3). 

• A dealer need not accept a container if the dealer: (a) Has not offered the product in the 
specific container size for sale within the past six months; (b) Has reasonable grounds to 
believe the container was sold at retail outside Oregon; or (c) Has reasonable grounds to 
believe that container was obtained from or through a disttibutor without paying the refund 
value .... Or. Admin. R. 84S-020-003S. 

• LIMIT: In addition, a dealer may refuse to accept more than 144 containers from anyone 
person in a single day. Or. Rev. Stat. § 4S9A.71S(2)(b). 

• Any person may establish a redemption center upon approval of the Oregon Liquor Control 
Commission. Or. Rev. Stat. §4S9A.73S(I). 

Link to Statute: http://landru.lelf-state.or.us/ors/4S9a.html 
Link to Administrative Rules: http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/rulcs/OARS 8001 
OAR 845/845 020.htm1 

10. California 
• 

• 

Every dealer must either allow for redemption of empty containers at all open cash registers 
in the dealer's place of business or at a specified location on the dealer's premises, or the 
dealer must post a conspicuous sign notifYing customers of the name and address of the 
certified recycling center or location(s) nearest to the dealer, "which redeems all types of 
empty beverage containers at one location during at least 30 hours per week with a minimum 
of five hours of operation occurring during periods other than from Monday to Friday, 
from 9:00 a.m. to S:OO p.m ..... " Cal. Pub. Res. Code §14S70. 
The Administrative Rules do not add any additional restrictions on recycling centers. 

Link to Statute: http://ww\v.consrv.ca.g:ov/DOR/crcp/recyclers/lmagcs/Act.pdf 
Link to Administrative Rules: http://,,,,,,w.cons!:,,ca'fiov/DOR 1 crcp 1 recvclers /Images fRegs. pd f 
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5B 2562 - RELATING TO THE DEPOSIT BEVERAGE CONTAINER PROGRAM 

Strongly Support 

PUBLIC HEARING 
lOam 

February 9, 2010 
Conference Room 229 

My name is Shannon Wood speaking on behalf of the Windward Ahupua a Alliance in strong 
support of SB 2562. 

AI? one of the many individuals & organizations who worked hard to get the original deposit 
bill passed back in 2002, we agreed to a temporary compromise about not requiring retailers to set 
up in-store or on-property redemption centers; however, it's now time to change the law' to require 
the largest stores to do so. 

In addition to the usual reasons given for setting up the program - customer conveniences and 
environmental concerns - the program not only pays for itself, but it also provides a revenue source 
for retailers which involves only providing space. 

WAA had hoped to run its own recycling center, but we weren't able to find an appropriate, 
reasonably-priced location in the greater Kane'ohe area and gave up doing so late in 2007. Had we 
been able to set up a redemption. center up using the business model we'd put together as part of two 
grant applications, we would have grossed well in excess of 5500,000 in the first year alone. 

Assuming, that large retailers would not have to rent additional space, between the fee 
. reimbursements'and selling the containers to various recyclers, these retailers could generate enough 
income to not only cover expenses but also show a significant profit. 

It cannot get better than this - serve customers, protect the enVironment, and support a "green 
economy:' 

It's time to change the law. Please support SB 2562. 

P.O. Box 6366 
Kane'ohe, HI 96744 
E-Mail: info@waa-hawaii.org 

Voicemail: 8081247-6366 
Cellular: 808/223-4481 

Website: http://www.waa-hawaii.org 


