STAND. COM. REP. NO. 877

Honolulu, Hawaii

Marhb, 2009

RE: H.B. No. 954

H.D. 1

Honorable Calvin K.Y. Say Speaker, House of Representatives Twenty-Fifth State Legislature Regular Session of 2009 State of Hawaii

Sir:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred H.B. No. 954 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO A MAJOR DISASTER RESERVE TRUST FUND,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this bill is to ensure that federal fund reimbursements for eligible disaster repair projects and disaster management costs received by the Department of Defense (DOD) are not subject to lapsing by requiring the Director of Finance to establish a major disaster reserve trust fund, including subaccounts for this trust fund and any other trust funds or accounts, where federal fund reimbursements may be held for later use.

The Department of Budget and Finance opposed this bill. DOD provided comments.

Your Committee has amended this bill by:

- (1) Changing the effective date to July 1, 2020, to encourage further discussion; and
- (2) Making technical, nonsubstantive amendments for clarity, consistency, and style.

STAND. COM. REP. NO. Page 2

317

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No. 954, as amended herein, and recommends that it pass Third Reading in the form attached hereto as H.B. No. 954, H.D. 1.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

MARCUS R. OSHIRO, Chair

State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Twenty-fifth Legislature



Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

Bill/Resolution No.: Committee Referral: Date: HB 954 PBS, FIN March 3, 2009				
☐ The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure. The recommendation is to: ☐ Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) ☐ Hold ☐ Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)				
1. OSHIRO, Marcus R. (C)	V			
2. LEE, Marilyn B. (VC)	1			
3. AQUINO, Henry J.C.	V			
4. AWANA, Karen Leinani	-	μ.		
5. BROWER, Tom				
6. CHOY, Isaac W.				
7. COFFMAN, Denny				dinesis.
8. HAR, Sharon E.				
9. KEITH-AGARAN, Gilbert S.C.				レ
10. LEE, Chris				
11. NISHIMOTO, Scott Y.				
12. SAGUM, Roland D., III				
13. TOKIOKA, James Kunane	<i>'</i>			
14. WOOLEY, Jessica				
15. YAMASHITA, Kyle T.				<u> </u>
16. PINE, Kymberly Marcos				
17. WARD, Gene				
				2
TOTAL (17)	13	0	0	4
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral, did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature: Maif 3. Lee				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				