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Honorable Calvin K.Y. Say
Speaker, House of Representatives
Twenty-Fifth State Legislature
Regular Session of 2010
State of Hawaii

Sir:

RE: H.B. No. 2263

Your Committee on Transportation, to which was referred H.B.
No. 2263 entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO HIGHWAY SAFETY,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this bill is to amend the statutory
requirements for provisional driver's licenses for persons between
ages 16 and 18 to allow a provisional licensee to obtain a
driver's license at the age of 18 without meeting the six month
requirement for maintaining a provisional license.

The Department of Transportation (DOT), Department of
Custome~ Services of the City and County of Honolulu, and numerous
concerned individuals testified in support of this bill.

Research, studies, and statistics show that young, novice
drivers have an extremely high crash risk with factors such as
inexperience and immaturity being major contributors. This is
especially true at night. As a result, Act 72, Session Laws of
Hawaii 2005, was enacted to address this issue by developing a
provisional driver's license program. According to DOT, since the
program's inception, a significant decrease in the number of
crashes involving 16 year olds (27 percent) and 17 year olds (14
percent) has occurred. More importantly, there has been a 60
percent reduction in the number of deaths among teens as a result
of traffic collisions.
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However, your Committee finds that, among other things, the
provisional license program requires that a provisional licensee
hold the license for a minimum of six months ~efore being eligible
for a driver's license. This has created a problem for
individuals who are nearing their 18th birthday and have a
provisional license. As currently written, individuals in the
provisional license program who turn 18 prior to fulfilling the
six month requirement are not eligible for a driver's license
until the requirement is met, even though they have taken all the
requisite driver education courses. However, 18 year old
individuals who did not enter the provisional licensing program
are eligible to obtain a driver's license upon their 18th birthday.
This measure addresses this issue.

As. affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your
Committee on Transportation that is attached to this report, your
Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of H.B. No.
2263 and recommends that it pass Second Reading and be referred to
the Committee on Judiciary.

Respectfully submitted on
behalf of the members of the
Committee on Transportation,

Chair
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State of Hawaii
House of Representatives

The Twenty-fifth Legislature

Record of Votes of the Committee on Transportation

BiUIResoIution No.:
HE 2263

Committee Referral:
TRN,JUD

Date:
2/03/2010

o The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.

The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) 0 Pass, with amendments (HD) 0 Hold

o Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit)

TRNMembers Ayes Ayes (WR) Nays Excused

\
o Not AdoptedAdopted

Ifjoint referral, --.--,--_-,---_-=-_--,--~"'did not support recommendation.

TOTAL (12)

The recommendation is:

Vice Chair's or designee's signature:

Distribution: Original (White) - Committee Duplicate (Yellow) - Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) - HMSO


