THE SENATE TWENTY-FIFTH LEGISLATURE, 2010 STATE OF HAWAII

4

12

19

23

S.C.R. NO. ¹⁷⁸ S.D. 1

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

URGING HAWAII HEALTH SYSTEMS CORPORATION HOSPITALS AND CLINICS TO ACCEPT MEDICAL STUDENT ROTATIONS FROM A.T. STILL UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE BASED OUT OF THE WAIANAE COAST COMPREHENSIVE HEALTH CENTER, THE UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII JOHN A. BURNS SCHOOL OF MEDICINE, AND OTHER HAWAII-BASED MEDICAL SCHOOLS.

WHEREAS, a severe shortage of health care providers
 currently exists, particularly in the rural and medically
 underserved areas of the state; and

5 WHEREAS, aside from Oahu, most of the state is federally 6 designated as Medically Underserved Areas, Medically Underserved 7 Populations, or Health Professional Shortage Areas; and 8

9 WHEREAS, there is an urgent need to provide high quality 10 primary care services to already underserved populations with 11 disparate health indicators; and

WHEREAS, maternal and child health risk, cardiovascular risk, and socio-economic risk are greatest in rural Hawaii; and 15

16 WHEREAS, according to the Department of Health's 1999
17 statistics, the top ten highest risk areas are all located in
18 rural communities; and

20 WHEREAS, the need for physicians in rural areas will only 21 increase with the aging population and projected population 22 growth on the neighbor islands; and

24 WHEREAS, national studies have demonstrated that
25 substantial residency training in rural areas increases
26 placement and retention of physicians in rural practices; and



S.C.R. NO. ¹⁷⁸ S.D. 1

WHEREAS, providing Hawaii's medical students with hospital 1 2 rotations in the state's rural areas is also of critical 3 importance to promoting the development of "roots" in the communities they may one day serve; and 4 5 6 WHEREAS, the Hawaii Health Systems Corporation (HHSC) 7 comprises Hilo Medical Center, Hale Ho'ola Hamakua, and Ka'u Hospital (East Hawaii Region); Kona Community Hospital and 8 9 Kohala Hospital (West Hawaii Region); Maui Memorial Medical Center, Lanai Community Hospital, and Kula Hospital (Maui 10 Region); Leahi Hospital and Maluhia (Oahu Region); Kauai 11 12 Veterans Memorial Hospital and Samuel Mahelona Memorial Hospital 13 (Kauai Region); Yukio Okutsu State Veterans Home - Hilo; Roselani Place - Maui; Ali'i Health Center - West Hawaii; and 14 affiliate HHSC facility Kahuku Medical Center - Oahu; and 15 16 17 WHEREAS, HHSC is heavily state subsidized to continue providing medical services throughout the state and in most 18 cases HHSC facilities are the only healthcare facilities in the 19 rural areas of the state; and 20 21 WHEREAS, HHSC's objective to provide health care services 22 to the people of Hawaii is in line with the goals of students in 23 24 Hawaii-based medical schools; and 25 26 WHEREAS, the Legislature finds HHSC is obligated as a state-funded hospital system to provide Hawaii-based medical 27 28 students with the medical rotations they need in any of the HHSC 29 facilities; now, therefore, 30 BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the Twenty-fifth 31 Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2010, the 32 33 House of Representatives concurring, that HHSC is urged to accept medical student rotations from A.T. Still University 34 35 School of Osteopathic Medicine based out of the Waianae Coast Comprehensive Health Center, the University of Hawaii John A. 36 37 Burns School of Medicine, and other Hawaii-based medical schools; and 38

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the HHSC and the Hawaii Primary Care Association are requested to work together to develop a plan for placing students from the A.T. Still University School of Osteopathic Medicine based out of the Waianae Coast Comprehensive Health Center, the University of Hawaii John A. Burns School of Medicine, and other Hawaii-based medical schools in HHSC facilities for medical student rotations; and

9 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that certified copies of this
10 Concurrent Resolution be transmitted to the Governor, Director
11 of Health, Chief Executive Officer of Hawaii Health Systems
12 Corporation, Dean of John A. Burns School of Medicine, Chief
13 Executive Officer of Waianae Coast Comprehensive Health Center,
14 and the Executive Director of the Hawaii Medical Association.

2010-1712 SCR178 SD1 SMA.doc