THE SENATE TWENTY-FIFTH LEGISLATURE, 2010 STATE OF HAWAII

S.C.R. NO. ¹¹⁷ S.D. 1

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

SUPPORTING THE BUILDING OF MODULAR AND FACTORY MANUFACTURED HOMES IN HAWAII.

WHEREAS, housing in Hawaii is among the most expensive in 1 the United States and infrastructure costs for roads, 2 electricity, water, and sewage are often too high for developers 3 and landowners to build in rural areas; and 4 5 WHEREAS, water catchment and solar power can be built into 6 modular homes, thus allowing home construction in rural areas 7 that have little infrastructure; and 8 9 WHEREAS, the use of steel framing in modular homes prevents 10 problems with subterranean termites and also makes these homes 11 resistant to hurricanes and earthquake damage; and 12 13 14 WHEREAS, homes that are built with factory construction can be moved, thus making them ideal for people who live on 15 leasehold land; and 16 17 WHEREAS, by setting aside rural land banked areas, modular 18 homes can be moved to safe areas if the property is in danger of 19 a lava flow, hurricane, or flood, which would enable financial 20 institutions and insurance companies to approve mortgages and 21 insurance on homes that are in lava, hurricane, or flood 22 23 inundation areas; and 24 WHEREAS, in 2002, a steel-framed housing factory on Oahu 25 manufactured homes at \$60 per square foot, as opposed to \$120 to 26 \$180 per square foot for site-built housing, demonstrating that 27 a factory manufactured home can generate cost savings of over 28 fifty per cent through the use of local materials and local 29 labor; now, therefore, 30 31 32 BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the Twenty-fifth Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2010, the 33



S.C.R. NO. 5.D. 1

House of Representatives concurring, that this body supports the
building of modular and factory manufactured homes in Hawaii,
not including trailer homes; and

5 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that certified copies of this 6 Concurrent Resolution be transmitted to the Governor and the 7 Mayors and Council Chairs of the respective counties of the 8 State of Hawaii.

2010-1675 SCR117 SD1 SMA.doc

Page 2

4