H.R. NO. ⁵⁵ H.D. 1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

SUPPORTING H.R. 3680 AND S. 1732 TO AMEND THE PUBLIC HEALTH SERVICE ACT TO PROVIDE FOR HEALTH DATA REGARDING NATIVE HAWAIIANS AND OTHER PACIFIC ISLANDERS.

WHEREAS, Census 2000 identified nearly a million Native 1 2 Hawaiians across the nation, with the majority of them living in 3 Hawaii; and 4 WHEREAS, federal legislation, H.R. 3680, was introduced by 5 Congresswoman Madeleine Bordallo on September 30, 2009, and was 6 also sponsored by Congresspersons Neil Abercrombie, Eni 7 8 Faleomavaeqa, Mazie Hirono, Michael Honda, and Gregorio Sablan; 9 and 10 WHEREAS, Senator Daniel Inouye also introduced federal 11 legislation, S. 1732, on September 30, 2009, which was co-12 sponsored by Senator Daniel Akaka and was read and referred to 13 the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs; and 14 15 WHEREAS, these bills, both entitled the Native Hawaiian and 16 Other Pacific Islander Health Data Act of 2009, aim to identify 17 and evaluate the health status and healthcare needs of Native 18 Hawaiians and other Pacific Islanders, thereby establishing 19 20 baseline health information to achieve equity in health information for those populations; and 21 22 WHEREAS, efforts to collect data would be targeted at the 23 major areas and regions in the continental United States, 24 Hawaii, American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana 25 Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, the Republic 26 of Palau, and the Republic of the Marshall Islands in which 27 Native Hawaiian and other Pacific Islander people reside; now, 28 therefore, 29 -

H.R. NO. ⁵⁵ H.D. 1

BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the Twenty-fifth Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2010, that the Legislature supports the passage of H.R. 3680 and S. 1732 to amend the Public Health Service Act to provide for health data regarding Native Hawaiians and other Pacific Islanders; and

8 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that certified copies of this 9 Resolution be transmitted to Hawaii's congressional delegation, 10 Congresswoman Madeleine Bordallo, Congressman Eni Faleomavaega, 11 Congressman Michael Honda, and Congressman Gregorio Sablan. 12 13

14

7

