18

H.R. NO. 265

## HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING LISA-ANNE TSURUDA AS THE 2009 MILKEN EDUCATOR AWARD WINNER, JANICE ESPIRITU AS THE 2009 MASAYUKI TOKIOKA AWARD WINNER, LIANE TANIGAWA AND SEANYELLE YAGI AS CO-RECIPIENTS OF THE 2008 PRESIDENTIAL AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN MATHEMATICS AND SCIENCE TEACHING, AND WALLY AMOS AS THE RECIPIENT OF THE LITERACY ADVOCATE AWARD.

WHEREAS, in light of the important role the public 1 2 education system plays in solidifying Hawaii's future, it is 3 always a pleasure and privilege for the Hawaii State House of 4 Representatives to recognize those exceptional individuals that 5 have made significant achievements in education, inspiring and 6 challenging the young minds of our state, and encouraging the 7 people of the surrounding communities to become actively 8 involved in their community's schools; and 9

10 WHEREAS, Lisa-Anne Tsuruda, who has taught language arts at Mililani High School since 2005, is a true leader and a catalyst 11 12 for change; by striving continually to reach the goals and 13 expectations that she holds herself to, she demonstrates to her 14 students and her colleagues that the sky truly is the limit and 15 that success can be achieved through tenacity and motivation; 16 and has earned the great privilege of receiving the 2009 Milken Educator Award; and 17

19 WHEREAS, Janice Espiritu, who has been with Kaunakakai 20 Elementary School for 30 years, eight of which have been as Principal of the school, believes that "the expressions of our 21 22 school mission and vision, and the principles of our beliefs are simple and straightforward; however, these guideposts are 23 pillars of cultural, social, and familial interactions that 24 serve to support and extend the learning and achievements of our 25 youth," has earned the distinct honor of being named the 26 27 recipient of the 2009 Masayuki Tokioka Award; and

HR Education Week March 18, 2010

WHEREAS, Liane Tanigawa, in addition to teaching science to 1 students in the third through sixth grade at Pearl Ridge 2 Elementary School since 2005, and also serving as the school's 3 science curriculum specialist and mathematics/science coach, 4 believes that "this award reaffirms my educational beliefs that 5 6 learning should be engaging and meaningful, and it also 7 encourages me to continue sharing my love of teaching science with others," has earned the well-deserved recognition of being 8 9 a recipient of the 2008 Presidential Award for Excellence in 10 Mathematics and Science Teaching; and 11

H.R. NO. 265

WHEREAS, Seanyelle Yaqi, who taught kindergarten through 12 fifth grade mathematics at Ka'ewai Elementary School for 12 13 14 years and, at the time of the award served as the school's mathematics coach/coordinator and as a mentor to new teachers, 15 and who currently teaches mathematics at Kalakaua Middle School 16 17 tries "to challenge myself to take risks and develop my 18 pedagogical and content knowledge, and the award represents what 19 is possible when you push yourself to give students opportunities for individual growth and accomplishment," has 20 21 received the 2008 Presidential Award for Excellence in 22 Mathematics and Science Teaching; and

23

WHEREAS, Wally Amos, who dedicated his efforts to Literacy 24 Volunteers of America where he served as their National 25 Spokesperson from 1979 to 2002, and as a literacy advocate uses 26 27 his well-known name to support educational causes and serves on the boards of the National Center for Family Literacy, Read to 28 29 Me International, and Communities in Schools, in addition to many others, and in 2005 along with his wife, Christine, founded 30 31 the Read it Loud!, a non-profit organization, to promote reading aloud to children, and believes that "reading is the foundation 32 of life for all of us," and encourages people to take bold steps 33 to promote literacy, such as creating "a whole campaign in your 34 city to promote the awareness for the importance of reading 35 aloud"; now, therefore, 36 37

BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the
Twenty-fifth Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2010, that this body hereby recognizes, congratulates, and
honors, Lisa-Anne Tsuruda as the 2009 Milken Educator Award

HR Education Week March 18, 2010

## H.R. NO. 265

Winner, Janice Espiritu as the 2009 Masayuki Tokioka Award
 Winner, Liane Tanigawa and Seanyelle Yagi as co-recipients of
 the 2008 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and
 Science Teaching, and Wally Amos as the Literacy Advocate Award
 recipient, and extends to all of them its sincere mahalo and
 best wishes for continued success.

OFFERED BY:

MAR 1 8 2010