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Department's Position: The Department of Health supports the intent of this bill but offers comments.

2 Fiscal Implications: Undetermined.

3 Purpose and Justification: This bill requires dealers with more than seventy-five thousand square feet

4 of retail space to operate redemption centers beginning October 1, 2009.

5 The Department of Health supports the intent of this bill to increase the number of certified

6 redemption centers available to the public. The Department does suggest that the requirement to provide

7 DBC redemption services should be considered for more deposit beverage dealers and not just those

8 with more than 75,000 square feet of interior retail space.

9 Thank. you for the opportunity to testify on this measure.

10

II

12

13

14

15



Fro~:Reynolds Recycl ing 4867753 03/16/2009 14:43 #440 P.001/005

~Rey!!olds
jtt:JRecycDng

BiUNO.~

Support y ®
Date 3Uet/rtf

Terry G. Telfer, President
Reynolds Recycling

Representative Hermina M. Morita, Chair
Representath'e Denny Coffman, Vice Chair
Committee on Energy and Environmental Protection

Date: Tuesday, March 17,2009,8:30 am in Conference Room 325

Re: Testimony in Strong Opposition to SB243, Relating to the Deposit Beverag~me '+ /5cL2
Container Program Cat AF AS AX@C

Thank you for the opportunity to testify on this bill. ~
Type 1 <3; WI .

Congratulations! Hawaii's Current network of Certified Redemption Centers has reached a
recycling rate of over 81 %! (per recent verbal testimony from DOH Deputy Director Larry
Lau)

Fr:

To:

Hawaii's recyclers have worked hard, spent millions of dollars, and made long-term
commitments to enable Hawaii's HI-5 program to work. It has done just that.

Hawaii has reached a level of redemption in 4 years, which California has not reached in over
25 years. That says a lot about the convenience and availability of redemption centers in
Hawaii.

Of course, you could aim for a higher percentage, but history has shown that the 'only way to
improve on that is to raise the deposit. Michigan, at 90-95%, has a 10-cent deposit on
everything. Germany, at almost 100%, has the equivalent of a 25-cent deposit on deposit
beverage containers. I do not believe that now is a good time to raise the deposit. I also do not
believe that forcing "big-box" stores to take up redemption is the right move for the state.

Hawaii's current redemption law is ALREADY in line with the vast majority (9 of 11) of
Deposit Beverage States (please see attachment from the Container Recycling Institute),
requiring beverage dealers to become redemption centers, contract with a recycler, or allows
them to "'opt out" if there is a recycler in a reasonable distance.

Hawaii already has well over 100 recycling locations in the state. It is significantly more per
capita than California. California has approximately 2000 redemption centers, has been a
deposit state for over 25 years, and is currently having to subsidize their redemption centers, as
they cannot make sufficient money to survive without a hand out. Hawaii has already
surpassed their redemption rate, their number of redemption centers per capita, and all without
government subsidies.

Address: 1122 Mikole Street, Honolulu, Hawaii 96819 Ph. 487-2802 Fax. 486-7753
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While we believe that Reverse Vending Machines (RVM) can be very useful in HI-5
redemption, we know that many people would rather visit a redemption center with employees
where their material can be weighed or counted, rather than having to use a recycling machine.

The 2008 Ward Research report to the DOH reported that 84% ofHi-5 program participants
chose to go to a fully staffed location rather than an automated center (6%), or a staffed center
""ith RVM (10%).

While in concept some people may see this bill as a step forward, in reality, this bill has a
number of unintended consequences that will not lead to a higher redemption rate, and will
hurt small and large business here in Hawaii. Approximately 50 big box stores would be
forced to enter the recycling market, and with the high cost of complying, this will increase the
price of goods to Hawaii consumers.

This would significantly increase the density of redemption centers in communities statewide,
which will make it very difficult for all redemption center operators to survive during these
difficult economic times. This kind of density is the very reason the State of California has had
to subsidize the operations of redemption centers in their state.

This could also potentially shift consumers away for the smaller sized local-retailers (based
upon square footage) such as Times, Foodland and Longs. Many recyclers like Reynolds
currently operate redemption centers in the sanIe shopping complexes as these establishments,
and our customers typically take their deposits and spend them at surrounding stores. If larger
retailers are forced to become redemption centers, consumer behavior may result in not only
recyclables, but also dollars flowing into their stores and away from smaller local retailers.

As a leader in Hawaii's recycling industry, Reynolds Recycling remains ·committed to
protecting Hawaii's future by recycling toqay, and in the future. We have been serving
Hawaii's recycling needs for over 28 years, and would be more than happy to work with you
on any legislation in this area. Unfortunately, understanding the. market as we do, we must
respectfully, but strongly oppose SB243.

Thank you.

Address: 1122 Mikole Street, Honolulu, Hawaii 96819 Ph. 487-2802 Fax. 486-7753
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Containers are returned to licensed redemption centers, not to retailers; unclaimed deposits go to administration & recycling program
funding, processing fees assessed on beverage container manufacturers to offset cost of recycling low scrap value material
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Distributors pay beverage container fee 1-1.5¢ per deposit container, unclaimed deposits fund program administration &local recycling
programs; redemption centers must submit reports reoularl
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Winelliquor containers included; deposit containers banned from landfills since 1990; if agreement exists w/licensed center, retailer can
refuse containers "-.
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(il) Rates are for time periods indicated in the note".

(b) 1.8¢/eontainer, paid by state to redemption center; very large & small volume centers exempted (eligible centers process minimum avg. ot 60,000 containers/man). Max
payment per center: $2300/month (127,778 units)

(c) Retailer exemptions vary depending on local population density, proximity to 11 redemption center, and store size.
(d) Fee based on the previous quarter's recycling rate: ifprevious quarter's rate is less than 70%, the fee is I¢/conminer, otherwise 1.5¢
e) No handling fee, but 25% of unclaimed deposits remain with retailers to offset handling costs.

iJ California DeDartment of Con~erv~ltQn•..Qtv.I~iQ!1..QfR.~~lID~HLQ1J.J.Md..!!Q~t2.9.Q1 ..r~J~~,
lfiil Iowa DNR Waste Mana~cmcnt Division as ner ohone conversation with JeffGeertsotl-8a21.Q.L(y~m.200Q..!'stiIDat~,
iiil Massachusetts D t ., Protection. MA Bottle Bill ~ ..tl1rn ~"t.." Chart (Jan -Seot.. 2004).
iv1Michigan DeDartment of Treasurv. Bottle Deoosit Information Chart 1990-2003.odf{vear 2003 oreliminarv ratest

(v) New York State Dept. of Environmental Conservation. Beverage Container Deposit & Redemption Statistics (October 1,200] to September 30. 2002).
[vi] Oregon Departtnent of Environmental Quality, as per e-mail communication from Peter Spendelow on 8/2/01 (year 2000 estimate).
[vii] Vennont Solid Waste Division, as per phone conversation with Cathy Stacey on 9/24/01 (year 2000 estimate).

Container Rec.vclinJ! Institute, Mav 2005,
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815 Kinoole Street
Hilo, HI 96720
(808) 969-1222

mrksrecycle(athawaii.rr.com-----
To: Energy & Environmental Protection Committee

March 16, 2009

Chair: Hermina Morita
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Vice-Chair: Danny Coffman
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Type 1 D"
This testimony is in regards to SB243, which to us is also related to SB884. Both of these acts

have the potential to dramatically change the face of the redemption program here in Hawaii.

The paperwork involved in operating a Certified Redemption Center is not a small amount. The
State does not want the responsibili Pig ~i!~' '(\"'llters. In section 2-E of SB243, it
states that all restaurants, hotels, wbee mters. With all these business
joining the redemption business, ' ."', , ,d to handle the paperwork.

e effect of
"one-stop

it's not fair
of business.

need to allocate
,ot a clean one. We
emption operations

g to transfer the "excess
'I fund. This will eliminate

re in Hawaii. If SB243 calls
as stated in SB243

,q~htly owned and operated
: 2009. Between SB884 and

@t~l'in Hilo
redemption center in DownioWnhl·~h.ed our doors

}':..>"i,_~:. -.,.., '.- ··ct-.. <.'

SB243, smaller redemption centers such as Mr. K's will no vive. In the actualization of economic
stimulus, please recognize that these bills are not good for the local economy. As a new business, it's hard
to survive, and now these small redemption operations may have to compete with large supermarkets for
customers. The big will get bigger, and the small will fold.

Wh
SB243? Thi
shop." It's no
to the larger
Redemption is n

company resources.i\«"'",,,
spend our days sortlng"Xt
into a supermarket marv

SB 884, currently
balance" from the deposit
resources needed to opera
for the State to assist Countie
section 2-D, these "excess" resources

Thanks for your time and attention to this matter

Thomas T. Kadota LTD, owner

Mr. K's Recycle & Redemption Center
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(Testimony is 5 pages long)

TESTIMONY IN STRONG SUPPORT OF S8 243

Aloha Chair Morita and Members of the Committee:

The Sierra Club, Hawai'i Chapter, with 5500 dues paying members statewide, strongly
supports SB 243, requiring that certain retailers take back deposit containers at their store.

The single best way to ensure easy, convenient redemption for Hawaii's consumers is to
mandate that grocery stores and retailers of a certain size take back the bottles and cans that
they sell, just like every other deposit law state.

Hawaii's bottle law has proven to be an overwhelming success for Hawaii's environment, with
three billion bottles and cans being diverted from Hawaii's landfills. Beyond waste diversion,
the new recycling law reduced litter, created jobs, and provided new opportunities for
churches, charities, and schools to fundraise. The recycling program proves that a little
change can make a big difference.

Despite its success with redeeming over three billion beverage containers, the bottle law can
be improved. Residents have rightfully complained about the cumbersome redemption
process, with infrequent redemption centers and spotty hours of operation (and service). 1 A
recent Department of Health study indicated 29% of respondents would prefer to redeem their
containers at stores or the place where the bottles were bought. To this end, 27% of
respondents complained in a recent study that it was "too much of a hassle" to redeem
containers. "When respondents were asked how much of the redemption center they
normally use changed in the past year, 66% of them said that it worsened a little.

Hawai'i is currently the only state with a bottle law that does not require grocery stores to
'close the loop' on recycling. Hawai'j should require that stores over a certain size (or over a
certain sales threshold) provide redemption, exempting most "mom and pop" stores. SB 243
will do this, requiring that large, "big box" stores over 75,000 square feet provide for
redemption. Stores would not need to staff a redemption center; they could simply install
"reverse vending machines" at the store or in the parking lot.

Such an improvement to our bottle law will streamline the redemption process and provide
residents with convenient recycling where they shop, when they shop.

1 See "Tracking Participation In and Attitudes Toward the HI-5 Deposit Beverage Container Recycling
Program" (April 2008), available at http://hawaii.gov/health/environmental/waste/sw/sw/hi5/supportl
HI5 2008SurvevReport.pdf

ORerycled Content Robert D. Harris, Director
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We strongly recommend. however, that this measure be amended to inclyde regular
grocery stores in the beverage container redemption program. We recommend that
stores 10.000 feet and larger be reqYired to take back bottles and cans, just like they do
in every other bottle law state (see attached pages on take-back requirements from other
states). Setting the size limit at 10,000 square feet would provide more opportunities to
recycle for residents (at the Foodlands, Safeways, etc. where they shop) while excluding the
smaller, mom-and-pop stores (for comparison, most "7-11" stores in Hawai'i are smaller than
10,000 square feet).

As a reminder to this Committee, the legislature has tried previously to encourage the
voluntary use of reverse vending machines by offering rebates to retailers and recyclers who
use them. The rebates ranged from $30,000 to $90,000 (depending on store size), effectively
covering a majority of the cost of such machines. These enticements failed to increase the
number of stores participating in the redemption program. It is unfortunate that the retailers
and grocery stores have refused to playa role in Hawaii's beverage container program by
providing easy, convenient recycling - justas they do in the other bottle law states where they
operate. SB 243-properly amended to include more of the everyday grocery stores that
residents patronize-will ensure that they participate in this recycling program to keep the
products that they profit from out of our landfills and off our beaches.

Please review the attached listing of retailer "take back" requirements from other bottle law
states. We hope this committee amends SB 243 to include more stores in Hawaii's bottle law
program.

Thank you for the opportunity to testify.

REVIEW OF REGULATIONS FROM OTHER BOTTLE LAW STATES

1. Maine
• Anyone who sells, beverages in redeemable containers, including vending machines, is a

dealer. Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 32, §1862(5).
• "[A] dealer may not refuse to accept from any consumer or other person not a dealer any

empty, unbroken and reasonably clean beverage container of the kind, size and brand sold
by the dealer ...." Me. Rev. State. Ann. tit. 32, §1866(1).

• A dealer may refuse to accept containers if the type of the container and the dealer are
covered by an order permitting a redemption center. Me. Rev. State. Ann. tit. 32, §1866(2).

• LIMIT: 240 containers per person per day. Me. Rev. State. Ann. tit. 32, §1866(2-A).
• A dealer may refuse to accept containers during no more than 3 hours each day. If the

dealer chooses to do this, the hours during which he or she will not accept containers must
be posted. Me. Rev. State. Ann. tit. 32, §1866(2-B).

• The only exemption is for apple cider produced in the state. Code. Me. R. §01-001-15.
Link to Statute: http:/ haolls.state.mc.lls/Jegis!statutes!32! title3"'secl867.html
Link to Regulations: http:! hnvw.maioe.gov(sos/cec(ruJes/Ol!nOl 1001 c36n.doc

2. Vermont
• The Vermont statute requires all retailers to accept and pay the refund for any beverage

containers "of the kind, size and brand sold by the retailer ...." 10 V.S.A. §1523(a)(1).
• Containers may be redeemed during no less than 40 hours per week, during regular

operating hours. 10 V.S.A. § 1522(d).
• A retailer may refuse to accept containers, with the prior approval of the Secretary of the

Agency of Natural Resources, if there is a redemption center serving the public need. 10
V.S.A. § 1523(b).
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• Retailers may refuse to accept containers that are dirty, broken, or were not purchased in
Vermont. 10 V.S.A. § 1532(c).

Website Statute: http://'V\V\v.leg.statc.vt.us/sr.atl1tcs/scctiol1s.cfm?Titlc=l O&Chaptcr=053

3. Massachusetts
• Any dealer must accept any empty beverage container of the size, brand, and type which

the dealer sells and pay the customer the refund for the container. Mass. Gen. Laws Ch.
94 §323(b).

• Dealers must accept containers during their normal business hours. Id.
• Dealers may refuse to accept containers contaminated with foreign material. Mass. Gen.

Laws Ch. 94 §323(f).
• In addition to retail establishments, any person can establish a redemption center. Mass.

Gen. Laws Ch. 94 §323(e).
o A redemption center may choose what containers it will accept. Id.

Link to Massachusetts General Law: http://www.mass.go\..!legis/laws/mgl/94-321.htm

4. Connecticut
• A dealer must accept "any empty beverage containers of the kind, size and brand sold by

the dealer" at the dealer's place of business unless the container contains foreign material
or is not labeled in accordance with the statute. Conn. Gen. Stat. Ch. 446d §22a-245(b).

• A dealer may also refuse to accept containers if the dealer "sponsors, solely or with others,
a redemption center which is located within a one-mile radius of such place of business
and which accepts beverage containers of the kind, size and brand sold by such dealer at
such place of business or unless there is established by others, a redemption center which
is located within a one-mile radius of such place of business and which accepts beverage
containers of the kind, size and brand sold by such dealer at such place of business." Id.

• A dealer may also refuse to accept containers 60 days after the dealer discontinues the sale
of a particular kind, size or brand of beverage, but the dealer must post notice of the date
on which he or she will stop accepting that particular type of container. Id.

• A person may apply to the Commissioner of Environmental Protection to establish a
redemption center. Conn. Gen. Stat. Ch. 446d §22a-245(a) (formerly §22a-79).

o ''Any person establishing a redemption center shall have the right to determine
what kind, size and brand of beverage container shall be accepted. Any
redemption center may be established to serve all persons or to serve certain
specified dealers." Id.

Link to Statute: http://\\.'ww.cga.ct.gov/::~Onl/pub/Chap44()d.htm#sec22a-243.htm

5. New York
• A dealer is required to accept at his or her place of business "any empty beverage

containers of the design, shape, size, color, composition and brand sold by the dealer ...."
NY Environmental Conservation Law §27-1007(1).

• A dealer may refuse to accept an empty beverage container if: (1) the container does not
state a refund value; (2) the bottle is broken; (3) the can is corroded or dismembered; (3)
the container contains a significant amount of foreign material. NY Environmental
Conservation Law § 27-1009(1)-(2).

• The Department of Environmental Conservation is authorized to promulgate rules that
would allow dealers and redemption centers to limit the kind and number of containers
that particular facility will accept, but it has not done so. NY Environmental Conservation
Law §27-1013.

Link to Statute: http://pllblic.leginfo.state.nv.us Imel111getf.cgi?COi\:fMONQUERY=LA\\'5
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6. Delaware
• A dealer shall accept from a consumer any empty beverage container of the kind, size and

brand sold by the dealer, and pay the consumer the refund on the appropriately labeled
returnable beverage container. DeL Code Ann., tit. 7, §6057.

• A dealer may refuse to refund deposits on beverage containers if a redemption center or
centers are established in the vicinity which serve the public need. Id.

• A dealer or redemption center may refuse to refund deposits on beverage containers which
are broken, or unclean, or not empty. Id.

• LIMIT: Such dealer or center may refuse to accept beverage containers from any person
who attempts to return 120 or more containers at the same time, or within a I-week
period. Id.

• Any dealer or distributor or manufacturer or person or any combination thereof may
establish a redemption center subject to approval of the Department. DeL Code Ann., tit.
7, §6056(a).

Link to statute:
http://www.ddcode.state.de.us/title7/c060/sc03/index.htm
Link to regulations: http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/A\.(·M/hw!sw/pdf/
bevreg.pdf

7. Michigan
• Dealers are required to provide "a convenient means whereby the containers of any kind,

size, and brand sold or offered for sale by the dealer may be returned by, and the deposit
refunded in cash" on the premises or within 100 yards of the premises. Mich. Camp.
Laws §445.572(2).

• "Regional centers for the redemption of returnable containers may be established, in
addition to but not as substitutes for, the means established for refunds of deposits
prescribed in subsection (2)." Mich. Camp. Laws §445.572(3) (emphasis added).

• A dealer may refuse to pay a refund when accepting an empty container if that dealer does
not require a deposit when he or she sells returnable beverage containers. Mich. Camp.
Laws §445.572(5).

• A dealer or distributor has discretion to refuse to accept containers that do not clearly state
the refund value of the container and "Michigan." Mich. Camp. Laws §445.572(7)

• LIMIT: In addition, a dealer is not required to accept empty containers for a refund of
more than $25 on a single given day. Mich. Camp. Laws §445.572(10).

Links to statute: http://www.lcgislature.mi.gov/(S(vl ksaimi44igdd55i4yeumrg)) /mileg.aspx?
page=getobject&objectname=mc1-initiated-law-of-1976
http://\v\\,,v.det.j.state.mi.us/documems/deg-wmd-s\vp-BottJe-Bi]l.doc

8. Iowa
• Dealers must accept "any empty beverage container of the kind, size and brand sold by

the dealer ...." Iowa Code §455C.3(1)
• A dealer may refuse to accept any empty container that does not have a refund value on it.

Iowa Code §455C.4(1).
• A dealer is also permitted to refuse to accept an empty beverage container if the dealer

and the kind and brand of container are covered by an order approving a redemption
center. Iowa Code §455C4(2).

• Dealers may also refuse to accept alcoholic beverage containers that were originally sold at
a state liquor store. Iowa Code §45SC4(3).

• Any person may establish a redemption center, subject to the approval of the Department
of Natural Resources. Iowa Code §455C6(1).

Link to statute: http://web.legis.statc.ia.us/L\CODEt!999SUPPLEMENT/455C/index.btml
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9. Oregon
• A dealer must accept "any empty beverage containers of the kind, size and brand sold by

the dealer ...." Or. Rev. Stat. § 459A.710(1)
• A dealer may refuse to accept any container if: (1) it does not state the refund value; (2)

the dealer and the container are covered by an order approving a redemption center; (3)
the container is visibly contaminated by any substance other than water, the original
contents, or dust; (4) the container is damaged to the extent that the brand is
unidentifiable. Or. Rev. Stat. § 459A.715(1)-(3).

• A dealer need not accept a container if the dealer: (a) Has not offered the product in the
specific container size for sale within the past six months; (b) Has reasonable grounds to
believe the container was sold at retail outside Oregon; or (c) Has reasonable grounds to

believe that container was obtained from or through a distributor without paying the
refund value .... Or. Admin. R. 845-020-0035.

• LIMIT: In addition, a dealer may refuse to accept more than 144 containers from any
one person in a single day. Or. Rev. Stat. § 459A.715(2)(b).

• Any person may establish a redemption center upon approval of the Oregon LiCjuor
Control Commission. Or. Rev. Stat. §459A.735(1).

Link to Statute: http://landru.leg.state.or.uslors /459a.html
Link to Administrative Rules: http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/rules/OARS 800/
OAR 845/845 020.html

10. California
• Every dealer must either allow for redemption of empty containers at all open cash

registers in the dealer's place of business or at a specified location on the dealer's premises,
or the dealer must post a conspicuous sign notifying customers of the name and address
of the certified recycling center or location(s) nearest to the dealer, "which redeems all
types of empty beverage containers at one location during at least 30 hours per week with
a minimum of five hours of operation occurring during periods other than from Monday
to Friday, from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m....." Cal. Pub. Res. Code §14570.

• The Administrative Rules do not add any additional restrictions on recycling centers.

Link to Statute: http://ww,-\::consrv~ca.govf1)ORI crcp i recvclers/ Images fAct.pdf
Link to Administrative Rules: http://www.consrv.ca.gov11)0R/crcp I recyclers Ilmages /Regs.pdf


