HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

REQUESTING THE FORMATION OF A JOINT LEGISLATIVE PROCUREMENT WORKING GROUP TO EVALUATE THE STATE PROCUREMENT CODE AND RECOMMEND IMPROVEMENTS.

WHEREAS, the Hawaii state procurement code and its accompanying administrative rules encompass a complex process for soliciting and awarding public contracts; and

WHEREAS, many of the complexities of the state procurement code result in needless delays in the awarding of contracts that often result in the failure to provide needed services and facilities to Hawaii's residents in a timely manner; and

WHEREAS, the state procurement code should be streamlined, where possible, to adapt to economic emergency situations, such as the current recession, that may require the speedy awarding of contracts financed by federal stimulus funds; and

WHEREAS, the state procurement code should be a vehicle for providing an economic advantage to local agriculture producers, local manufacturers and suppliers, and the local workforce; and

WHEREAS, the state procurement code is in need of review to find efficiencies and improve the overall effectiveness of the procurement process; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the Twenty-fifth Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2009, the Senate concurring, that the Legislature is requested to form a joint legislative procurement working group to evaluate the state procurement code and recommend improvements; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the joint legislative procurement working group is requested to select a chairperson

HCR LRB 09-2094.doc

29

22 23

1

2

3

5

6

7

8 9

10

11

13 14

15

16

17 18

19

20

21

24 25

26 27

28

30

from its membership and consider the following persons as members:

(1) Four members of the House of Representatives, consisting of three members from the majority party and one member from the minority party, who are requested to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives;

(2) Four members of the Senate, consisting of three members from the majority party and one member from the minority party, who are requested to be appointed by the President of the Senate;

(3) The State Procurement Administrator, or the Administrator's designee;

(4) The Comptroller, or the Comptroller's designee;

(5) A representative of the Procurement Policy Board under section 103D-201, Hawaii Revised Statutes, who is requested to be selected by the Comptroller;

(6) Each county's chief procurement officer or designee;

(7) A representative of the Hawaii Procurement Institute at the William S. Richardson School of Law, who is requested to be selected by the Dean of the William S. Richardson School of Law;

(8) Professor Danielle Conway-Jones, of the William S. Richardson School of Law, is requested to serve on, or address the working group, or both; and

 (9) Five procurement practitioners, selected by the Chairperson, including representatives from federal, state, and county procurement offices and procurement attorneys; and

 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Department of Accounting and General Services is requested to provide necessary administrative professional, technical, and clerical support to the working group; and

HCR LRB 09-2094.doc



3 4 5

1

2

10

13 14

15

11 12

16

21 22 23

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the members of the joint legislative procurement working group are requested to serve without compensation and without reimbursement for expenses; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the joint legislative procurement working group is requested to report any findings and recommendations, including any proposed legislation, to the Legislature no later than twenty days prior to the convening of the regular session of 2010; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the working group is requested to dissolve itself on June 30, 2010; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that certified copies of this Concurrent Resolution be transmitted to the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the President of the Senate, the State Procurement Administrator, the Comptroller, the Chairperson of the Procurement Policy Board, the Dean and Professor Danielle Conway-Jones of the William S. Richardson School of Law, and the mayor of each county.

OFFERED BY:

MAR 1 8 2009