SB 3171 (SD2) RELATING TO CHARITABLE TRUSTS AND NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS

Requires charitable trusts and nonprofits to register and file annual financial reports with the attorney general. Authorizes the attorney general to conduct investigations on possible violations. Prohibits contracting with unregistered solicitors. Requires a report submittal fee based on total revenue of organization. Appropriates funds to staff additional positions.

HOUSE COMMITTEE ON CONSUMER PROTECTION & COMMERCE

Rep. Robert N. Herkes, Chair Rep. Angus L.K. McKelvey, Vice Chair

HOUSE COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY Rep. Tommy Waters, Chair Rep. Blake K. Oshiro, Vice Chair

MARCH 13 2:00 PM CONF. ROOM 325

Hawaii Substance Abuse Coalition

GOOD MORNING CHAIRS HERKES AND WATERS, VICE CHAIRS MCKELVEY AND OSHIRO, AND DISTINGUISHED COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

My name is Alan Johnson. I am the current chair of the Hawaii Substance Abuse Coalition (HSAC), a statewide hui of more than twenty non-profit treatment and prevention agencies.

HSAC Supports SB 3171 SD2 Subject to Recommended Changes

HSAC supports the intent of the bill to register non-profits subject to changing the requirement that non-profits fund the registration fee to that the fee is funded out of general funds. Further the 990 tax forms for non-profits are readily available on line at Guidestar for no charge.

SECTION 1.

(5) Require submittal of a filing fee based on total revenue of organization; and Appropriate funds from the General Fund to cover filing fees.

SECTION 2.

§467B-B

The report shall be accompanied by a filing fee as prescribed by subsection (d) and shall be signed by two authorized officers of the organization, one of whom shall be the chief

<u>fiscal officer of the organization.</u> A filing fee for the report shall be expended by the General Fund. The report shall be signed by two authorized officers of the organization, one of whom shall be the chief fiscal officer of the organization.

(d) Each charitable organization filing a report required by this section shall pay a filing fee to the department, based on the total amount of its income and receipts during the time covered by the report at the close of the calendar or fiscal year adopted by the charitable organization as follows:

- <u>(1)</u> \$10, if less than \$25,000;
- (2) \$25, if \$25,000 but less than \$50,000;
- (3) \$50, if \$50,000 but less than \$100,000;
- (4) \$100, if \$100,000 but less than \$250,000;
- <u>(5)</u> \$150, if \$250,000 but less than \$500,000;
- (6) \$200, if \$500,000 but less than \$1,000,000;
- (7) \$300, if \$1,000,000 but less than \$2,000,000;
- (8) \$500, if \$2,000,000 but less than \$5,000,000; or
- (9) \$750, if \$5,000,000 or more.

On behalf of HSAC, we appreciate the opportunity to provide information and are available for questions.