

RUSS K. SAITO Comptroller

BARBARA A. ANNIS Deputy Comptroller

## STATE OF HAWAII DEPARTMENT OF ACCOUNTING AND GENERAL SERVICES P.O. BOX 119 HONOLULU, HAWAII 96810-0119

## TESTIMONY OF RUSS K. SAITO, COMPTROLLER DEPARTMENT OF ACCOUNTING AND GENERAL SERVICES TO THE HOUSE COMMITTEES ON TOURISM & CULTURE AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT & BUSINESS CONCERNS ON March 24, 2008

S.B. 2434

## RELATING TO THE STADIUM AUTHORITY

Chair Yamane, Chair Yamashita, and members of the Committees, thank you for the opportunity to testify on S.B. 2434.

The Department of Accounting and General Services (DAGS) opposes S.B. 2434 because it is unnecessary. Changing the way the nine members of the Stadium Authority are appointed, as the bill proposes, would serve no useful purpose. The bill does not change the selection criteria or qualifications for Authority members, and does not provide the President of the Senate or the Speaker of the House of Representatives with any basis for nominating better candidates than the Governor.

The bill proposes to have three Authority members appointed directly by the Governor, three from lists submitted by the President of the Senate, and three from lists submitted by the Speaker of the House of Representatives. The bill further proposes that the first, third and fifth vacancies after the bill would go into effect would be appointed

GOVERNOR

by the Governor from lists provided by the President of the Senate and the second, fourth and sixth would be appointed from lists provided by the Speaker of the House, first six appointees would be based on nominations not submitted by the Governor. This would also set in motion a cycle in which two-thirds of the Authority's members will be determined by the President of the Senate and Speaker of the House of Representatives before the Governor could directly appoint the Governor's one-third of the members.

If the Committees are determined to pass this bill, DAGS recommends that it be amended to have all appointments by the Governor be from lists submitted by a nominating committee composed of two people selected by the Governor, one by the President of the Senate, and one by the Speaker of the House. This committee could be convened for each appointment or could be convened for a fixed term of a set number of years.

Thank you for the opportunity to testify on this matter.