## HAWAII COUNCIL OF ASSOCIATIONS OF APARTMENT OWNERS

P.O. Box 726 Aiea, Hawaii 96701 Telephone (808) 566-2122

February 9, 2008

Sen. Russell Kokubun, Chair Sen. David Ige, Vice-Chair Senate Committee on Commerce, Consumer Protection & Affordable Housing

RE: SB 2008 Re Condominiums

Hearing: Tues., Feb. 12, 2008, 9 a.m., Conf. Rm. #229

Chair Kokubun and Vice-Chair Ige and Members of the Committee:

I am Jane Sugimura, President of the Hawaii Council of Associations of Apartment Owners (HCAAO).

HCAAO supports this bill and urges you to pass it out of committee unchanged.

This issue, i.e., whether a person or a director, respectively, who is delinquent in the payment of association fees or assessments can run for the Board or continue to serve on the Board, has caused concern in many associations. The consensus is that such a person should not be able to run for office and a director in the position should resign since they would be in conflict with their obligations to the association if they were allowed on the Board or to continue to serve as a Board member.

Thank you for the opportunity to testify.

Jane/Sugimura (

President



## HAWAII INDEPENDENT CONDOMINIUM & COOPERATIVE OWNERS 1600 ALA MOANA BLVD. - APT. 3100 - HONOLULU - HAWAII 96815

February 12, 2008

Senator Russell Kokubun, Chair Senator David Ige, Vice-Chair Committee on Commerce, Consumer Protection and Affordable Housing

## Testimony on SB 2008 Relating to Condominiums

## Dear Senators:

Thank you for this opportunity to testify in support of SB 2008 on behalf of the Hawaii Independent Condominium and Co-op Owners (HICCO). The mission of our organization is to represent the interests of individual condominium and Co-Op owners in the State of Hawaii.

This bill prohibits a unit owner who owes \$1,000 or more in maintenance fees, fines, or any other fees owed to the Association for a period of at least three months from serving on its Board of Directors.

HICCO supports SB 2008 and respectfully requests that the bill be approved as is.

Sincerely,

Richard Port, Chair Legislative Committee

Richard Bort