1

2 3

5 6

7 8 9

10

11

12 13

14

15

16 17 18

19

20

21 22

23

24 25

26

27 28

29

30

31 32

HOUSE RESOLUTION

REQUESTING THE COUNTIES TO CONSIDER ESTABLISHING REAL PROPERTY TAX HARDSHIP EXEMPTIONS TO ASSIST RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY TAXPAYERS IN JEOPARDY OF LOSING THEIR PROPERTY DUE TO COSTS ASSOCIATED WITH RECOVERING FROM NATURAL OR MAN-MADE DISASTERS.

WHEREAS, the recent real estate boom has caused rising property values and increased real property tax rates in the state; and

WHEREAS, the construction of luxury homes in some middle income neighborhoods has also caused an increase in property tax rates in those neighborhoods; and

WHEREAS, these skyrocketing real property tax rates are beyond the means of some residential property owners who may be in jeopardy of losing their property because of the increasing property tax rates; and

WHEREAS, the state of Idaho provides property tax relief to its residents in the form of homeowners, elderly and disabled, and hardship exemptions; and

WHEREAS, Idaho's hardship exemption allows county commissions to forgive a resident's real property tax liability, or a portion thereof, in certain cases where property is damaged by an event causing casualty losses; and

WHEREAS, the example of the Idaho hardship exemption could be followed in Hawaii to accommodate certain cases where homeowners, through no fault of their own, are in jeopardy of losing their property due to costs associated with recovering from natural or man-made disasters; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the Twenty-fourth Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2008, that the counties are requested to consider establishing real property tax hardship exemptions to assist

HR298 HD1 HMS 2008-3295



residential property taxpayers in jeopardy of losing their property due to costs associated with recovering from natural or man-made disasters; and

 $\,$ BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that certified copies of this Resolution be transmitted to the Mayor and the Chairperson of the Council of each county.