HOUSE RESOLUTION

CONGRATULATING MYRON BRUMAGHIM OF NANAIKAPONO ELEMENTARY SCHOOL, ROBERT STEVENS OF RADFORD HIGH SCHOOL, DR. TERI USHIJIMA OF MOKULELE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL, PHYLLIS NAKAMA-KAWAMOTO OF MILILANI IKE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL, AND NATALIE RODRIGUES OF MILILANI WAENA ELEMENTARY SCHOOL FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT AS INNOVATORS IN EDUCATION IN THE STATE OF HAWAII.

WHEREAS, the key to a successful school is the vision extended through the leadership of its principal and the vitality of its teachers, and it is the pleasure and privilege of the House of Representatives to recognize those exceptional individuals who have made significant achievements in the education of the young people of their communities; and

WHEREAS, MYRON BRUMAGHIM, Principal of Nanaikapono Elementary School, has been named the 2007 National Distinguished Principal for the State of Hawaii; and

WHEREAS, ROBERT STEVENS, Principal of Radford High School, was selected as one of three finalists in the 2007 National Principal of the Year program and previously received the 2006 Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Award; and

WHEREAS, DR. TERI USHIJIMA, Principal of Mokulele Elementary School, was honored with the 2006-2007 Milken Family Foundation National Educator Award; and

WHEREAS, PHYLLIS NAKAMA-KAWAMOTO, a kindergarten and first grade math teacher at Mililani Ike Elementary School, was honored with Hawaii's 2006 American Star of Teaching; and

WHEREAS, NATALIE RODRIGUES, a fifth grade teacher at Mililani Waena Elementary School, has been honored with the

first Teacher of Promise Award by the National Milken Educators of Hawaii; and

WHEREAS, these professional educators in our public schools have been recognized for their extraordinary talents and abilities through innovation in instruction to inspire both their students and colleagues; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED by the House of Representatives of the Twenty-fourth Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2007, that this body hereby recognizes, congratulates, and honors MYRON BRUMAGHIM, ROBERT STEVENS, DR. TERI USHIJIMA, PHYLLIS NAKAMA-KAWAMOTO, and NATALIE RODRIGUES for their outstanding accomplishments and contributions to public school education in the State of Hawaii, and extends to each of them its sincere mahalo for a job well done.

Carenthana (
Caren

Wenner more