### SECOND DAY

## Thursday, January 17, 1985

The Senate of the Thirteenth Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 1985, convened at 11:30 o'clock a.m., with the President in the Chair.

The Divine Blessing was invoked by Dr. W.C. Garland, Minister, First Southern Baptist Church of Pearl Harbor, after which the Roll was called showing all Senators present, with the exception of Senators Machida and Mizuguchi who were excused.

The Chair announced that he had read and approved the Journal of the First Day.

#### HOUSE COMMUNICATION

A communication from the House (Hse. Com. No. 1), transmitting House Concurrent Resolution No. 1, which was adopted by the House of Representatives on January 16, 1985, was read by the clerk and was placed on file.

On motion by Senator Cobb, seconded by Senator Soares and carried, H.C.R. No. 1, "HOUSE entitled: CONCURRENT RESOLUTION REQUESTING THE GOVERNOR то ADDRESS THE LEGISLATURE ASSEMBLED IN JOINT SESSION," was adopted.

At this time, Senator Cobb rose on a point of personal privilege:

"Mr. President, I'd like to stand on a point of personal privilege. Normally, I refrain from commenting on personal privilege, but Tuesday's edition of the Honolulu Star-Bulletin on page A-6, has committed enough errors and affected my performance as a legislator, that I think it deserves some comment.

"On page A-6 they listed 25 members of the Senate, four being Republican, 21 being Democrat. When I count the number of Republicans, however, I see five. Unfortunately, they put an 'R' next to my name."

Senator Soares then interjected:

"Point of order, Mr. President. That goes back to his voting record."

Senator Cobb continued:

"I was about to get to that. While I appreciate their good efforts and the efforts of others in my district to effect the conversion, I want everyone to know that I have not, repeat, not signed a party card, and will be participating in the Democratic caucus, as always.

"But it goes further. They used an old

picture. I realize it has bags under the eyes and I, on January 7th, sent them a new picture and said, 'Please use this one. It doesn't have quite the bags under the eyes.' But they went ahead and did it, anyway.

"But then to compound the error, in the House of Representatives lineup they say there are 10 Republicans and as you count the 'R's and I assume they are accurate, there are actually 11. For some reason there seems to be a concerted effort to downplay the minority party by including yours truly, and I'd just like to have it corrected for the record. Thank you, Mr. President."

The President then made the following Majority leadership assignments:

Majority Leader Senator Joseph T. Kuroda

Majority Floor Leader Senator Steve Cobb

Majority Policy Leader Senator Patsy K. Young

The President also announced the following Standing Committees of the Senate and their respective chairmen:

COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE

Senator Malama Solomon

COMMITTEE ON CONSUMER PROTECTION AND COMMERCE

Senator Steve Cobb

COMMITTEE ON ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Senator James Aki

COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION

Senator Charles T. Toguchi

COMMITTEE ON ENERGY

Senator Richard M. Matsuura

COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS

Senator Duke T. Kawasaki

COMMITTEE ON HEALTH

Senator Bertrand Kobayashi

COMMITTEE ON HIGHER EDUCATION

Senator Milton Holt

# COMMITTEE ON HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

Senator Patsy K. Young

## COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES

Senator Neil Abercrombie

COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY

Senator Anthony K. U. Chang

COMMITTEE ON LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT

Senator Gerald K. Machida

COMMITTEE ON LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT

Senator Patsy K. Young

COMMITTEE ON TOURISM AND RECREATION

Senator Joseph T. Kuroda

## COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION

Senator Benjamin J. Cayetano

COMMITTEE ON WAYS AND MEANS

Senator Mamoru Yamasaki

The President also announced the membership of the following committees:

WAYS AND MEANS

Mamoru Yamasaki, Chairman Norman Mizuguchi, Vice Chairman Lehua Fernandes Salling Gerald T. Hagino Clayton H. W. Hee Milton Holt Bertrand Kobayashi Gerald K. Machida Richard M. Matsuura Mary-Jane McMurdo Malama Solomon Richard Henderson W. Buddy Soares

## JUDICIARY

Anthony K. U. Chang, Chairman Benjamin J. Cayetano, Vice Chairman Neil Abercrombie James Aki Steve Cobb Duke T. Kawasaki Joseph T. Kuroda Charles T. Toguchi Patsy K. Young Mary George Ann Kobayashi

The President then stated that "committee assignments to the other committees are being worked out and will be announced as soon as they are completed."

The President then reminded the Senators that aloha attire on Fridays is acceptable.

At 11:46 o'clock a.m., the Senate stood in recess subject to the call of the Chair.

The Senate reconvened at 11:47 o'clock a.m.

## ADJOURNMENT

At 11:48 o'clock a.m., on motion by Senator Cobb, seconded by Senator Soares and carried, the Senate adjourned until 11:00 o'clock a.m., Friday, January 18, 1985.