5

SENATE RESOLUTION

REQUESTING EACH COUNTY POLICE DEPARTMENT IN THE STATE TO PURCHASE AND DEPLOY EXPLOSION DETECTION TECHNOLOGY TO LOCATE AND RESPOND TO EXPLOSIONS CAUSED BY THE ILLEGAL USE OF FIREARMS AND FIREWORKS.

WHEREAS, Hawaii residents deserve to live in peace and security; and

WHEREAS, illegal gunfire and the use of illegal fireworks cause public safety risks and health hazards, leading to traumatic impacts; and

WHEREAS, new technologies have been developed that enable law enforcement officers to instantly detect and locate the geographic origin of explosions caused by gunfire or illegal fireworks; and

WHEREAS, police departments using these technologies have reported the ability to receive notification of gunshots within forty seconds, leading to faster response times; and

WHEREAS, ShotSpotter is a leading product in this field, with current usage by more than ninety cities nationwide; and

WHEREAS, ShotSpotter has been shown to increase reporting of gunshots, decrease the time from reporting to police dispatch, decrease victim transport time, and more accurately identify crime scene locations; and

WHEREAS, in Oakland, California, the ShotSpotter technology assisted law enforcement in responding to more than one hundred gunshot wound victims; and

WHEREAS, ShotSpotter or similar technology also has potential for law enforcement to help detect and respond to illegal fireworks; now, therefore,

1 2

BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the Thirty-third
Legislature of the State of Hawaii, Regular Session of 2025,
that each county police department in the State is requested to
purchase and deploy explosion detection technology to locate and
respond to explosions caused by the illegal use of firearms and
fireworks; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that each county Chief of Police is
requested to ensure appropriate training is provided to police
officers in the use of the explosion detection technology
equipment; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that certified copies of this
Resolution be transmitted to the Mayor, County Council Chair,
and Chief of Police of each county.