

Honorable Nadine K. Nakamura Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-Third State Legislature Regular Session of 2025 State of Hawaii

Madame:

Your Committee on Transportation, to which was referred S.C.R. No. 117, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, entitled:

"SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION URGING THE SAFE ROUTES TO SCHOOL ADVISORY COMMITTEE TO COLLABORATE WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION, DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, AND THE COUNTY OF HAWAII TO CONDUCT AN INVENTORY OF BUS STOPS ON HAWAII ISLAND UTILIZED BY CHILDREN TO TRAVEL TO SCHOOL AND DEVELOP STRATEGIES TO IMPROVE SAFETY AT EACH LOCATION, "

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to urge the Safe Routes to School Advisory Committee to collaborate with the Department of Education, Department of Transportation, and the County of Hawaii to conduct an inventory of bus stops on Hawaii island utilized by children to travel to school and develop strategies to improve safety at each location.

Your Committee received testimony in support of this measure from the Department of Transportation; Department of Education; and one individual.

Your Committee finds that unlike other islands in the State, many students on Hawaii island face unique transportation challenges, including long travel distances, limited access to

2025-3351 SCR117 HD1 HSCR HMSO

STAND. COM. REP. NO. 2141 Page 2

school bus services, and reliance on the County of Hawaii's Hele-On public transportation system through special arrangements with the Department of Education.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Transportation that is attached to this report, your Committee concurs with the intent and purpose of S.C.R. No. 117, S.D. 1, H.D. 1, and recommends its adoption.

> Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Transportation,

for DARIUS KILA, Chair



State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-third Legislature



Record of Votes of the Committee on Transportation

Bill/Resolution No.: SCR 17 SD1 HD1 EDN TRN Date: 4/17/25				
The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure.				
The recommendation is to:				
TRN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. KILA, Darius K. (C)				
2. GRANDINETTI, Tina Nakada (VC)				
3. COCHRAN, Elle				
4. EVSLIN, Luke A.				
5. KITAGAWA, Lisa				
6. LA CHICA, Trish				
7. MIYAKE, Tyson K.				
8. MURAOKA, Christopher L.				
9. PIERICK, Elijah				
TOTAL (9)	5			14-
The recommendation is: Adopted If joint referral,	Not Adopted did not support recommendation. committee acronym(s)			
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				