STAND. COM. REP. NO.



Honolulu, Hawaii

APR 114 , 2025

RE: S.B. No. 1536 S.D. 2 H.D. 2

Honorable Nadine K. Nakamura Speaker, House of Representatives Thirty-Third State Legislature Regular Session of 2025 State of Hawaii

Madame:

Your Committee on Finance, to which was referred S.B. No. 1536, S.D. 2, H.D. 2, entitled:

"A BILL FOR AN ACT RELATING TO THE HAWAII TOURISM AUTHORITY,"

begs leave to report as follows:

The purpose of this measure is to:

- Repeal the exemption for the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Hawaii Tourism Authority from the State's Employees' Retirement System; and
- (2) Require a retirant returning to service as the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Hawaii Tourism Authority to reenroll into the Employees' Retirement System.

Your Committee received comments on this measure from the Hawai'i Tourism Authority.

As affirmed by the record of votes of the members of your Committee on Finance that is attached to this report, your Committee is in accord with the intent and purpose of S.B. No. 1536, S.D. 2, H.D. 2, and recommends that it pass Third Reading.



STAND. COM. REP. NO. 1952 Page 2

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the members of the Committee on Finance,

KYLE T. YAMASHITA, Chair



State of Hawaii House of Representatives The Thirty-third Legislature

HSCR 1952

Record of Votes of the Committee on Finance

SB1536, SD2, HD2 TOU,		Dat N	*3 31 25	5
 The committee is reconsidering its previous decision on the measure. The recommendation is to: Pass, unamended (as is) Pass, with amendments (HD) Hold Pass short form bill with HD to recommit for future public hearing (recommit) 				
FIN Members	Ayes	Ayes (WR)	Nays	Excused
1. YAMASHITA, Kyle T. (C)	1			
2. TAKENOUCHI, Jenna (VC)	1			
3. GRANDINETTI, Tina Nakada	1			
4. HOLT, Daniel				/
5. HUSSEY, Ikaika				
6. KEOHOKAPU-LEE LOY, Sue L.		- Dirygen and an and an an and an an and		n de service de company de la company de
7. KITAGAWA, Lisa				
8. KUSCH, Matthias				
9. LAMOSAO, Rachele F.10. LEE, Mike				
11. MIYAKE, Tyson K.	1			
11. MITAKE, Tyson K. 12. MORIKAWA, Dee				
13. TEMPLO, Shirley Ann				
14. ALCOS III, David				
15. REYES ODA, Julie				
16. WARD, Gene				
				· ····
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				
			. <u></u>	
·				
TOTAL (16)	14	0	0	2
The recommendation is: Adopted I Not Adopted If joint referral,				
Vice Chair's or designee's signature:				
Distribution: Original (White) – Committee Duplicate (Yellow) – Chief Clerk's Office Duplicate (Pink) – HMSO				