

HAWAI'I HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Hale o nā Luna Maka'āinana

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

November 7, 2024

House Communications: Cathy S. Lee | 808-587-7242

STATE HOUSE ANNOUNCES NEW LEADERSHIP TEAM



(L-R) Majority Leader Sean Quinlan, Majority Floor Leader Dee Morikawa, Speaker Nadine K. Nakamura, Vice Speaker Linda Ichiyama, and Majority Caucus Leader Chris Todd

Honolulu, Hawai'i – With strong support from a majority of members of the State House of Representatives, Representative Nadine K. Nakamura assumed the role of Speaker of the House effective November 6, 2024, making history as the first woman to hold this position in the state of Hawai'i.

"I'm deeply honored by the support of my House colleagues to lead the State House of Representatives. I'm committed to ensuring a smooth transition as we prepare for the 33rd Legislative Session," said Representative Nadine K. Nakamura, who served as House Majority Leader for the past two years. "Our new leadership team is excited to step up and start working now to address the pressing needs of our state."

Representative Nakamura was first elected to the State House in 2016. Prior to serving as House Majority Leader, she was Chair of the House Committee on Housing. Previously, she was Managing Director for the County of Kaua'i (2013-2016) under Mayor Bernard Carvalho, Jr.,

and served as a member of the Kaua'i County Council (2010-2013). Representative Nakamura holds a Master's degree in Urban and Regional Planning from the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa and a Bachelor of Science in Public Affairs and Urban Planning from the University of Southern California, Los Angeles. She is a mother to two children, Casey and Reis, and serves as a caregiver to her mother, Mabel Maeda.

Additional members of the House Leadership team announced today include individuals who represent working families and provide a diversity of perspectives and life experiences in their new roles:

- Vice Speaker Linda Ichiyama
- Majority Leader Sean Quinlan
- Majority Caucus Leader Chris Todd
- Majority Floor Leader Dee Morikawa

"Our team reflects the values of working families and the experiences of many in our community," said Nakamura. "Representatives Ichiyama, Quinlan, and Todd, as parents of young children, understand firsthand the importance of championing policies that support local families—such as childcare, healthcare access, and work-life balance. Representative Morikawa, a seasoned member, continues to guide us with her institutional knowledge. We're also proud to uphold strong neighbor island representation within the House Leadership team."

The Legislature will convene the 2025 Regular Session on January 15, 2025.

###

Representative Nadine K. Nakamura serves House District 15, which includes Hā'ena, Wainiha, Hanalei, Princeville, Kīlauea, Anahola, Keālia, Kapa'a, portion of Wailua, Kawaihau. She previously served as the House Majority Leader.

Representative Linda Ichiyama serves House District 31, which includes Fort Shafter Flats, Salt Lake, Pearl Harbor. She previously served as the Chair of the House Committee on Water and Land.

Representative Sean Quinlan serves House District 47, which includes Waialua, Hale'iwa, Kawailoa Beach, Waimea, Sunset Beach, Waiale'e, Kawela Bay, Kahuku, Lā'ie, Hau'ula, Punalu'u, Kahana. He previously served as the Chair of the House Committee on Tourism.

Representative Chris Todd serves House District 3 which includes a portion of Hilo, Keaukaha, Orchidlands Estate, 'Āinaloa, Hawaiian Acres, Fern Acres, portions of Kurtistown and Kea'au. He previously served as a House Majority Whip and the Chair of the House Committee on Transportation.

Representative Dee Morikawa serves House District 17 which includes Ni 'ihau, a portion of 'Ōma 'o, Kōloa, Po 'ipū, Lāwa 'i, Kalāheo, Ele 'ele, Hanapēpē, Kaawanui Village, Pākalā Village, Waimea, Kekaha. She has served as the House Majority Floor Leader since 2018.